Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Bascombe Novels

by Richard Ford

Bascombe Novels Synopsis

This trilogy of brilliant novels - The Sportswriter, Independence Day, and The Lay of the Land - that charts the life and times of one of the most beloved and enduring characters in modern fiction. When we meet Frank Bascombe in The Sportswriter, his unguarded voice instantly wins us over and pulls us into a life that has been irrevocably changed by the loss of a marriage, a career, a child. We then follow Frank, ever brilliantly and hilariously observant, through Independence Day and The Lay of the Land, witnessing his fortune's rise and his family's fragmentation and reintegration. With finely honed prose and an eye that captures the most subtle nuances of the human condition in all its pathos, humour, beauty and strangeness, Richard Ford transforms Frank Bascombe's life into a riveting moving parable of life in America today.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408838396
Publication date: 11th October 2012
Author: Richard Ford
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Bloomsbury Paperbacks
Format: eBook
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Richard Ford

More About Richard Ford

More Books By Richard Ford

Cover for The Shattered Crown by Richard Ford
View All Books By Richard Ford

Share this book