Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

American Civil War,

by David Reynolds

American Civil War, Synopsis

Ten episodes from David Reynolds' award-winning radio series, which trace the history of the American Civil War. This narrative tells the story of the American Civil War through the voices of those who lived it. Written and presented by acclaimed historian David Reynolds, these extracts come from the series 'America: Empire of Liberty', which won the Voice of the Listener & Viewer Award for the Best New Radio Programme and was nominated for a Sony Radio Academy Award. The 10 episodes included are: 'The Ninety-Day War', 'The Killers Take Command', 'Forever Free', 'A New Nation', 'War Behind the Battle Lines', 'The Passing of the Dead', 'Dead States, New Birth', 'Reunion but not Reconstruction', 'New South, Old Ways' and 'War and Memory'. 'The interwoven voices and news reports of the time... make for striking immediacy' - Observer (on 'Empire of Liberty').

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408497739
Publication date: 1st April 2011
Author: David Reynolds
Publisher: BBC Audio BBC Digital Audio
Format: eBook
Categories: Radio,

About David Reynolds

More About David Reynolds

More Books By David Reynolds

Cover for Slow Road to San Francisco by David Reynolds
Cover for The Long Shadow The Great War and the Twentieth Century by David Reynolds
Cover for Island Stories  by David Reynolds
View All Books By David Reynolds

Share this book