Search our site
Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron Read the opening extract of the brand new Sophie Cameron book before its publication on 22/03/2018

Ethan's Voice by Rachel Carter

Lovereading view...

Perfect for fans of Mark Haddon, David Almond and Jacqueline Wilson Ethan's Voice is an uplifting, tenderly written story that marks the arrival of a remarkable new talent in children's fiction.

A message from Zoe Duncan, Senior Editor at Scholastic:

"A tender, uplifting story about a mute boy's journey to rediscover his ability to speak. It is a book that is full of friendship, with a story that is told with the lightest touch."


Ethan's Voice by Rachel Carter

How do you begin to tell your story when you can't speak? Ethan lives on the canal. He likes it there. He can go to the pond and catch newts and minnows. He can learn everything he needs to know from books and from his mum. No one there laughs at him because he doesn't talk. Ethan can't remember exactly when he stopped talking or why. It is only when he meets Polly, a girl who has recently moved to the canal, that he begins to wish things were different.

About the Author

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999


Rachel Carter

More books by Rachel Carter
Author 'Like for Like'





9+ readers



I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin