LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds

Ebook edition released 01/03/2018

by Kelly McCaughrain

Children's & YA Fiction Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Book Club Recommendations eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Flying Tips for Flightless Birds

In a Nutshell: It takes courage for the show to go on

Highs, lows, love and laughter - this big-hearted circus-set debut has it all. Siblings Finch and Birdie Franconi are high-flying trapeze artists in their family circus school. They’re fearless in flight, and also in fashion. Their no-nonsense attitude and endlessly inventive ensembles of bright blazers, tutus, paisley print, polka print and outlandish accessories certainly make them stand-out at school, and also attracts the attention of brainy new boy Hector. Reluctant at first, Finch agrees to teach seemingly hapless Hector circus skills, but when Birdie has an accident on the trapeze, his world begins to unravel. Finch feels fear for the first time, and it falls to Hector to show him that the show must go on.

Alongside the tension and turmoil around Birdie’s condition, and the radiant razzle-dazzle of the circus, there’s a magnificent (if rocky-roaded) romance, and many words of wisdom come courtesy of Birdie’s blog posts: “You can’t control everything. That’s where courage comes in; sometimes you have to just go for it”.

Complex questions are put under the spotlight as the main characters try to navigate their way in the world, wondering who they are, who they should be, how they fit in, and these big issues are all explored with clarity, humour and a whole of lot of heart beneath Franconi’s exhilarating Big Top. 

Joanne Owen

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds Synopsis

"e;Witty and clever. This novel really does sparkle."e; Roddy DoyleFrom debut author Kelly McCaughrain comes a sweet and kooky romcom for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder, Sarah Crossan, and Susin Nielsen's We Are All Made of Molecules. Twins Finch and Birdie Franconi are stars of the flying trapeze. But when Birdie suffers a terrifying accident, Finch must team up with the geeky new kid, Hector Hazzard, to form an all-boys double act and save the family circus school. Together they learn to walk the high-wire of teen life and juggle the demands of friends, family, first love and facing up to who they are - all served up with a dash of circus-showbiz magic.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781406381948
Publication date: 1st March 2018
Author: Kelly McCaughrain
Publisher: Walker Books Walker Books
Format: Ebook
Primary Genre Children's & YA Fiction
Recommendations:

Like For Like Featured Books

Orangeboy
Portal 24
The Declaration
Killing Honour

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781406375657
Publication date: 01/03/2018
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781406381948
Publication date: 01/03/2018
Format: Ebook

ISBN: 9781406381955
Publication date: 01/03/2018
Format: Ebook

View All Editions

More Books By Kelly McCaughrain

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds
View All Books By Kelly McCaughrain

Share this book