LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Chicken Gave it to Me

by Anne Fine

The Chicken Gave it to Me Synopsis

A classic children's story from one of our best-loved authors, former Children's Laureate Anne Fine. Gemma doesn't believe a chicken could have written a book - chickens can't even read! But here in front of them is The True Story of Harrowing Farm, and its scratchy pages definitely look, well, chickeny. It is an epic tale of cruelty and bravery, the story of a chicken who flies frillions of miles, reaching the heights of intergalactic superstardom, to try to save us humans ... Perfect for boys and girls aged 6 and up, and for fans of Jeremy Strong and Pamela Butchart's Wigglesbottom Primary series. Anne Fine's fun school stories have been delighting children for more than 20 years, winning her awards such as the Smarties Book Award and Carnegie Medal along the way.

The Chicken Gave it to Me Press Reviews

'a clever and biting social fable... wit and brilliance sparkle on every page' Junior Bookshelf; 'a terrific little book' Joanna Lumley 'Fine has a rare genius for building a funny, enriching and moving story around the nuts and bolts of school life' The Times * 'A remarkable writer' British Book News * 'Anne Fine is an author who knows how to make readers laugh' Guardian

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405289023
Publication date: 9th August 2018
Author: Anne Fine
Publisher: Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 112 pages
Categories: General fiction (Children's / Teenage),

About Anne Fine

Anne Fine is one of Britain's most distinguished writers for both adults and children. She has twice won both the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year Award, as well as the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, the Smarties Prize and numerous other regional and foreign awards. She has twice been voted Children's Author of the Year.

More About Anne Fine

More Books By Anne Fine

Cover for Our Precious Lulu by Anne Fine
Cover for Fly in the Ointment by Anne Fine
Cover for A Remarkable Ear by Anne Fine
View All Books By Anne Fine

Share this book