debuts of the month rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuehn
  

Charm and Strange

13+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £10.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014 Fans of Meg Rosoff, Kevin Brooks or Lionel Shriver's We Need to Talk About Kevin will be gripped by this story, but it is unlike anything you have ever read before. A deftly woven and unnerving psychological thriller from debut author Stephanie Kuehn. The pace, tension and raw emotion within this books for teens is almost palpable. Charm and Strange is a book that will stay with you long after you have turned the final page.

Synopsis

Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuehn

Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014
'Don't. Please don't say my name. You have no idea who I really am.'
No one really knows who Andrew Winston Winters is. Least of all himself. He is part Win, a lonely teenager exiled to a remote boarding school in the wake of a family tragedy. The guy who shuts the whole world out, no matter the cost, because his darkest fear is of himself ...of the wolfish predator within. But he's also part Drew, the angry boy with violent impulses that control him. The boy who, one fateful summer, was part of something so terrible it came close to destroying him.

Reviews

Twisted, and twisting. Relentlessly compelling. Lush storytelling. A must-read. -- Ellen Hopkins, New York Times Bestselling author or Crank, Fallout and Tilt

Brilliant and chilling and beautiful and heartbreaking and wow. Kirsten Hubbard, Goodreads

About the Author

Stephanie Kuehn holds degrees in linguistics and sport psychology and is currently working towards a doctorate in clinical psychology. She lives in Northern California with her husband, their three children, and a joyful abundance of pets. When she's not writing, she's running. Or reading. Or dreaming. Charm and Strange is her debut novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd June 2013

Author

Stephanie Kuehn

More books by Stephanie Kuehn
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd

Format

Hardback
272 pages
Interest Age: From 13

Categories

13+ readers
eBooks
eBooks

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781405267847

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools