Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Fiction of Chinua Achebe

by Jago Morrison

Part of the Readers' Guides to Essential Criticism Series

The Fiction of Chinua Achebe Synopsis

Since the emergence of Things Fall Apart in 1958, Chinua Achebe has come to be regarded by many as the 'Godfather' of modern African writing. Over 150 full length studies of his work have been published, together with many hundreds of scholarly articles. This Reader's Guide enables students to navigate the rich and bewildering field of Achebe criticism, setting out the key areas of critical debate, the most influential alternative approaches to his work and the controversies that have so often surrounded it. The Guide examines Achebe's key novels - with the main focus on Things Fall Apart - and also discusses his less well-known short fiction. Including discussion of important Nigerian scholarship that is often inaccessible, this is an invaluable introduction to the work of one of Africa's most important and popular writers.

The Fiction of Chinua Achebe Press Reviews

'The overall import of the volume as an important contribution to literary scholarship cannot be overemphasized. [...] Literary scholars, students and the general reader savour the fresh insights Morrison offers here.' - African Research & Documentation: Journal of the Standing Conference on Library Materials on Africa

Book Information

ISBN: 9781403986726
Publication date: 21st August 2007
Author: Jago Morrison
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan an imprint of Palgrave USA
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 200 pages
Categories: Literary studies: fiction, novelists & prose writers, Literary studies: from c 1900 -,

About Jago Morrison

JAGO MORRISON is Head of English at the University of Chichester, UK. He has published widely on post-war fiction in English, and is the author of Contemporary Fiction (Routledge, 2003) and co-editor of Scandalous Fictions: The Twentieth-Century Novel in the Public Sphere (Palgrave Macmillan, 2006).

More About Jago Morrison

Share this book