Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Cambridge Library Collection - Music The Philosophy of Music: A Series of Essays

by Joseph Goddard

Cambridge Library Collection - Music The Philosophy of Music: A Series of Essays Synopsis

Joseph Goddard (1833-1910) was a philosopher and historian of the music of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. In this collection of essays, first published in 1862, he argues that 'music is the most original and perfect offspring of the human mind'. He first demonstrates this by comparing music with the other fine arts in their expression of emotion, and shows music to have its roots in language, as both depend on principles of rhythm, tone and phrase. He then illustrates how these elements can express the full spectrum of human thought and morality, including truth, faith, imagination and intellect, and asserts that they stand above all other art forms in their ability to do so. Concluding with an analysis of how the laws of life, nature and the supernatural are manifested in music, this judicious work remains important in the fields of music philosophy and theory.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781108038621
Publication date: 20th October 2011
Author: Joseph Goddard
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 174 pages
Categories: Theory of music & musicology,

About Joseph Goddard

More About Joseph Goddard

Share this book