Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The The First Crossing of Greenland 2 Volume Set The First Crossing of Greenland

by Fridtjof Nansen

Part of the Cambridge Library Collection - Polar Exploration Series

The The First Crossing of Greenland 2 Volume Set The First Crossing of Greenland Synopsis

First published in English in 1890, this book by Norwegian explorer and scientist Fridtjof Nansen (1861-1930) recounts the first crossing of the Greenland interior in 1888, an expedition that took two months. Learning from previous failed attempts, Nansen suggested crossing from the uninhabited east to the inhabited west of Greenland, an innovation that proved successful. Nansen's account was translated by Hubert Majendie Gepp and includes an introduction written by the secretary of the Royal Geographical Society. Volume 2 begins with the party setting out for the west, and includes lextensive descriptions of the climate and encounters with Inuit peoples. The book closes with the party reaching the west coast and journeying home. Volume 2 also includes an appendix of the scientific discoveries of the expedition. Nansen, who later served as delegate to the League of Nations, was awarded the 1922 Nobel Peace Prize for his humanitarian endeavours.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781108031103
Publication date: 18th May 2011
Author: Fridtjof Nansen
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 542 pages
Categories: Historical geography, European history,

About Fridtjof Nansen

More About Fridtjof Nansen

Share this book