rebus 30th anniversary tudor queens series eligible curtis sittenfeld finding gobi granchester
Search our site
The Music Shop by Rachel Joyce Read the opening extract of the brand new Rachel Joyce book before its publication on 13/07/2017

The Cove by Ron Rash
  

The Cove

Horror   Literary Fiction   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This simple and sad story is told with such exquisite language and believable characters you will be transported to the Appalachian mountains of Carolina during the First World War. Prejudice, cowardice and ignorance are all stacked against the sensitive and beautiful Laurel and her war wounded brother Hank and a stranger they meet and help who is not all he seems. An excellent novel from an accomplished American author.

If you like Ron Rash you might also like to read books by Glenn Taylor, Philipp Meyer and Tom Franklin.

Synopsis

The Cove by Ron Rash

In their little cabin set in the shadow of a deep cove, Laurel Shelton and her brother Hank have built a home. The locals whisper about the cove being cursed and perhaps it is: good fortune rarely seems to wind its way down the long overgrown trail that leads to their clearing in the woods. One day the course of both their lives seems altered when Laurel happens upon a stranger hiding among the trees. With only a simple haversack of worldly belongings, the alluring and mysterious Walter is soon drawn in to life in the cove, helping Hank on the farm and bringing Laurel the only real comfort she has ever known. But as soon as the dark cloud hanging over the cove finally begins to lift, a secret is uncovered that threatens to shatter their newly found happiness. As their neighbours begin to stoke a fire of rage against the cove and its inhabitants, Laurel, Hank and Walter come to understand the terrible danger they are in ...A breathtaking, lyrical novel with a profoundly moving love story at its heart, The Cove confirms Ron Rash as a masterful novelist at the height of his powers.

Reviews

* Rash tells great stories, raw and powerful ... He understands the way life works Irish Times * An unmitigated joy to read Independent on Sunday * Ron Rash is the best American novelist I have come upon in the last twenty years Scotsman * Exquisite. A breathless sequence of events lead the book to its devastating final sentence New York Times * Recalls both Steinbeck and Cormac McCarthy New Yorker * The Cove is a novel that speaks intimately to today's politics. Beautifully written, tough, raw, uncompromising, entirely new. Ron Rash is a writer's writer who writes for others -- Colum McCann * Ron Rash is a writer of both the darkly beautiful and the sadly true; The Cove solidifies his reputation as one of our very finest novelists -- Richard Russo, author of EMPIRE FALLS * When writers gather and tipple while discussing those not present at the table but admired, the name Ron Rash quickly comes up. He uses language wiith such apparently effortless skill that it is as though he found words in his barn as a child and has been training them to fit his needs ever since. There's not much he doesn't know about humans in turmoil, or his region, a place where nothing ever changes until all of a sudden it does and often too much. Rash throws a big shadow now and it's only going to get bigger -- Daniel Woodrell, author of WINTER'S BONE * The Cove is a marvelous novel, bristling with power, humanity and the exceptional quality of characterisation and storytelling we have come to expect from Ron Rash -- Irvine Welsh * Remarkable ... Mr. Rash certainly knows how to rivet attention New York Times on Burning Bright * Finds a narrow sweet spot between Raymond Carver and William Faulkner Washington Post on Burning Bright * This book calls to mind Snow Falling on Cedars and Cold Mountain, but the poet in Ron Rash and his lyrical prose elevate this novel to its Book of the Year status Irish Times on Serena * Serena could sit comfortably on any bookshelf alongside Cormac McCarthy or Charles Frazier ... it's a spectacular book Guardian * A superb book written by a talented author. Fans of Cormac McCarthy and John Steinbeck will love The Cove Nudge


About the Author

Ron Rash

Ron Rash is an award-winning poet, short-story writer and novelist. His most recent story collection, Burning Bright, won the 2010 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award and his previous novel, Serena, was a New York Times Bestseller. Both are available from Canongate. He lives in the Appalachian Mountains, USA.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st January 2013

Author

Ron Rash

More books by Ron Rash
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Canongate Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
256 pages

Categories

Horror
Literary Fiction
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780857862624

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools