Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more


by Michael Farris Smith

Blackwood Synopsis

For years, Colburn has been haunted by his father's suicide and the rapid disintegration of his childhood home. As a teenager, Colburn fled Red Bluff, Mississippi, eager to escape his trauma and start fresh elsewhere. But when he returns to town as an adult, lured by an unshakable desire, he finds that his demons have only grown larger in his absence. In Red Bluff resides both a gift and a curse: Colburn meets and falls in love, only to have that love torn from him. The mystery of his lover's disappearance, he learns, is intertwined with that of a strange family living within the kudzu laden undergrowth of the countryside. Pulled back to his father's house, Colburn is forced to finally confront the truth.

Blackwood Press Reviews

Praise for Blackwood and Michael Farris Smith 'If you're a fan of Southern or Rural Noir - James Lee Burke, Daniel Woodrell, Donald Ray Pollock, the literary children of Flannery O'Connor - you'll feel uncomfortably at home [...] Though Farris Smith has five novels under his belt, he is little known in Britain. That ought to change: let some Mississippian mayhem, murder and misery into your lives' - The Times 'Smith is emerging as one of the great chroniclers of America's dispossessed. A haunting and utterly compelling read' - Mail on Sunday 'Michael Farris Smith's outstanding new novel, Blackwood, makes a strong case for Mississippi to be considered the most disturbing state in America, if not the world' - Strong Words 'You will not be disappointed' - Daily Mail

Book Information

ISBN: 9780857304063
Publication date: 10th December 2020
Author: Michael Farris Smith
Publisher: No Exit Press an imprint of Oldcastle Books Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 256 pages
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Michael Farris Smith

Michael Farris Smith is the author of Blackwood, The Fighter, Desperation Road, Rivers, and The Hands of Strangers. He has been awarded the Mississippi Author Award for Fiction, Transatlantic Review Award, and Brick Streets Press Story Award. His novels have appeared on Best of the Year lists with Esquire, Southern Living, Book Riot, and numerous others, and have been named Indie Next List, Barnes & Noble Discover, and Amazon Best of the Month selections. He has been a finalist for the Southern Book Prize, the Gold Dagger Award in the UK, and the Grand Prix des Lectrices in France, and his ...

More About Michael Farris Smith

More Books By Michael Farris Smith

Cover for NICK by Michael Farris Smith
Cover for Desperation Road by Michael Farris Smith
Cover for Desperation Road by Michael Farris Smith
View All Books By Michael Farris Smith

Share this book