Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Update Poems 2011-2012

by Dennis O'driscoll

Update Poems 2011-2012 Synopsis

After the completion of 'Dear Life', his highly praised ninth collection of poems, Dennis O'Driscoll kept his finished poems in a computer file called 'Newest Poems', subtitled 'Since completion of 'Dear Life and 'April 2011 - '. This book reproduces its complete contents. The title we have given it, from an outstanding poem, signifies one important aspect of the collection: that it forms a substantial update to the body of his published work. Despite the collection's provisional and unfinished nature (since the poet surely hoped to add to it and prepare it for publication), the 33 poems are ones which his many readers will want to have. Darker even than much of 'Dear Life', they are full of his inimitable humour, his searching eye, his characteristic wit and wisdom.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780856464591
Publication date: 10th October 2014
Author: Dennis O'driscoll
Publisher: Anvil Press Poetry an imprint of Carcanet Press Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 64 pages
Categories: Poetry by individual poets,

About Dennis O'driscoll

Dennis O'Driscoll was born in 1954 and died on Christmas Eve, 2012. His books included nine collections of poetry, two of essays, two of literary quotations and 'Stepping Stones: Interviews with Seamus Heaney' (2008). A member of Aosdana, the Irish academy of artists, he worked for almost forty years in Ireland's Revenue and Customs service.

More About Dennis O'driscoll

More Books By Dennis O'driscoll

Cover for Stepping Stones   by Dennis O'driscoll
View All Books By Dennis O'driscoll

Share this book