Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Beethoven's Symphonies Five and Seven A Closer Look

by David Hurwitz

Part of the Magnum Opus Series

Beethoven's Symphonies Five and Seven A Closer Look Synopsis

This book aids the listener in getting beneath the surface of Beethoven's two beloved symphonies.Composers often write pieces in highly contrasting moods in very close proximity. But no composer took this process further than Beethoven. His famous Fifth Symphony , with an opening familiar to anyone, became the standard for the Romantic, tragedy to triumph, 'victory symphony'. The sunny Sixth however represents a high-water mark of relaxed lyricism. On a superficial listening, they couldn't sound more different from one another. Yet by examining them more closely it is revealed that they have more in common than their emotional trajectories might suggest.This book aids the listener in getting beneath the surface of these two beloved symphonies, revealing that however disparate the expressive message, the language and style remain Beethoven's - a symphonic voice as powerful in struggle and victory as in relaxation and meditation. Magnum Opus is a series for anyone seeking a greater familiarity with the cornerstones of Western Classical Music - operatic, choral and symphonic. Always passionate, down-to-earth, and authoritative on the works and their creators, Magnum Opus is an indispensable resource for anyone's musical library and the perfect gift for the music-lover in your life.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780826429445
Publication date: 1st December 2008
Author: David Hurwitz
Publisher: Continuum International Publishing Group Ltd. an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 144 pages
Categories: Orchestras, Individual composers & musicians, specific bands & groups,

About David Hurwitz

David Hurwitz has been writing about classical music for more than twenty years. As a critic and commentator, his articles and essays have appeared in such well-known publications as High Fidelity, the New York Observer, Musical America, and numerous other magazines and newspapers, both in the U.S. and abroad. Founder and executive editor of, the first online classical music review magazine, Hurwitz is also the author of eight books on subjects ranging from Haydn and Mozart to Mahler Dvorak, Sibelius and Shostakovich. He lives in New York.

More About David Hurwitz

Share this book