Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy

by Karen Foxlee

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Synopsis

';Magic is ';messy and dangerous and filled with longing,' we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly museum, the tale brings together a valiant girl, a charmed boy, a magical sword and a clock ticking down to the end of the world.'The Wall Street JournalThis is the story of unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard who doesn't believe in anything that can't be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty, the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia's help.As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy's own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.A story within a story, this a modern day fairytaleabout the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.From the Hardcover edition.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780804168373
Publication date: 28th January 2014
Author: Karen Foxlee
Publisher: Books on Tape Listening Library
Format: eBook
Categories: Traditional stories (Children's / Teenage),

About Karen Foxlee

More About Karen Foxlee

More Books By Karen Foxlee

Cover for The Midnight Dress by Karen Foxlee
Cover for Lenny's Book of Everything by Karen Foxlee
Cover for A Most Magical Girl by Karen Foxlee
View All Books By Karen Foxlee

Share this book