Instructions for a Heatwave

Ebook edition released 18/06/2013

by Maggie O'Farrell

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Family Drama eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Instructions for a Heatwave

Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award 2013.

The stunning new novel from Costa-Novel-Award-winning novelist Maggie O'Farrell: a portrait of an Irish family in crisis in the legendary heatwave of 1976. Maggie O'Farrell's sixth book is the work of an outstanding novelist at the height of her powers.


Instructions for a Heatwave Synopsis

Sophisticated, intelligent, impossible to put down, Maggie O'Farrell's beguiling novelsAfter You'd Gone, winner of a Betty Trask Award; The Distance Between Us, winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; The Hand That First Held Mine, winner of the Costa Novel Award; and her unforgettable bestseller The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennoxblend richly textured psychological drama with page-turning suspense. Instructions for a Heatwave finds her at the top of her game, with a novel about a family crisis set during the legendary British heatwave of 1976. Gretta Riordan wakes on a stultifying July morning to find that her husband of forty years has gone to get the paper and vanished, cleaning out his bank account along the way. Gretta's three grown children converge on their parents' home for the first time in years: Michael Francis, a history teacher whose marriage is failing; Monica, with two stepdaughters who despise her and a blighted past that has driven away the younger sister she once adored; and Aoife, the youngest, now living in Manhattan, a smart, immensely resourceful young woman who has arranged her entire life to conceal a devastating secret. Maggie O'Farrell writes with exceptional grace and sensitivity about marriage, about the mysteries that inhere within families, and the fault lines over which we build our livesthe secrets we hide from the people who know and love us best. In a novel that stretches from the heart of London to New York City's Upper West Side to a remote village on the coast of Ireland, O'Farrell paints a bracing portrait of a family falling apart and coming together with hard-won, life-changing truths about who they really are.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780804120708
Publication date: 18th June 2013
Author: Maggie O'Farrell
Publisher: Books on Tape Books on Tape
Format: Ebook
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction
Other Genres:
Win a Hardback of Alexander McCall Smith's The Joy and Light Bus Company and a Fortnum's Tea Basket.

Win a Hardback of Alexander McCall Smith's The Joy and Light Bus Company and a Fortnum's Tea Basket.

Closing date: 07/10/2021

The latest instalment of the No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency sees Mma Ramotswe return to take on a mystery much trickier than it initially appears.  To celebrate the release of The Joy and Light Bus Company by Alexander McCall Smith, we are working with Little, Brown Book Group in order to offer you a chance to win a hardback copy of the book and a Fortnum's Tea Basket. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 7th October 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

Green Island A Novel
A Promise of Ankles

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780755358793
Publication date: 29/08/2013
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780804120708
Publication date: 18/06/2013
Format: Ebook

ISBN: 9780755358786
Publication date: 28/02/2013
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

More Books By Maggie O'Farrell

Instructions for a Heatwave
Instructions for a Heatwave
Instructions for a Heatwave
View All Books By Maggie O'Farrell

Share this book