Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Tales of Wonder

by Mark Twain, David Ketterer

Part of the Bison Frontiers of Imagination Series

Tales of Wonder Synopsis

Mark Twain's unsettling imagination and passionate curiosity roamed far and wide-racing across microscopic worlds and interstellar voids, leaping ahead to fearful futures, and speculating on dazzling inventions to come. Tales of Wonder features some of the most notable but little-known science fiction available, penned by the famed American humorist and writer. With characteristic wit and acuity, Twain embarks on an epic journey into a drop of water, catches a glimpse of an invisible man, reveals a generation-starship-type world in the heart of a drifting iceberg, and imagines futuristic devices of instantaneous communication such as the phrenophone and telelectroscope. Twain pioneered the use of time travel to the past in A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court. As for the future, he envisioned a radical utopia of absolute suffrage and future histories in which a global theocracy holds sway or a monarchy rules America. This entertaining and absorbing collection of tales reminds us that the former steamboat pilot dreamed about the stars, anticipated and dreaded the future, and above all was continually surprised and enchanted by the world around him.

Tales of Wonder Press Reviews

The author's masterful writing in many little-know tales and Ketterer's introdution and notes make Tales of Wonder a book every Twain fan and science fiction lover should have. -Mark Graham, Rocky Mountain News -- Mark Graham * Rocky Mountain News * Tales of Wonder . . . gathers the American master's shorter imaginative fiction in a handy scholarly volume. -Publishers Weekly * Publishers Weekly *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780803294523
Publication date: 1st March 2003
Author: Mark Twain, David Ketterer
Publisher: Bison Books an imprint of University of Nebraska Press
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 387 pages
Categories: Short stories,

About Mark Twain, David Ketterer

Mark Twain (1835-1910) was the author of such classics as The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn as well as many short stories, including those appearing in the recent collection, How Nancy Jackson Married Kate Wilson and Other Tales of Rebellious Girls and Daring Young Women (Nebraska 2001). David Ketterer is an emeritus professor of English at Concordia University in Montreal and an honorary research fellow in the Department of English at the University of Liverpool. He is the author of numerous books, including Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy and Imprisoned in a Tesseract: The Life and Work of James Blish.

More About Mark Twain, David Ketterer

Share this book