Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Reflections in Shattered Glass

by Mark Scott

Reflections in Shattered Glass Synopsis

Detective Bob McCaffey attempts to achieve fame by solving the high profile murder of an entertainment industry mogul, Burl Mathews. His investigation leads him into the murky world of promoters and money men, and nearly gets him killed. Before his search is over, Bob will face the dark side of his own ambition. When Mathews is murdered, the police assume the murder resulted from one of his notoriously shady business deals. Bob, a Dallas police department detective who specializes in fraud cases, is assigned to lead the murder investigation. Bob learns that Burl Mathews had been in a precarious legal and financial situation. Mathews had bullied and cheated his way to the top of the broadcast entertainment industry, and some of the people he betrayed in the past began to fight back via lawsuits, blackmail, and other means. Mathews needed money, lots of it and in a hurry, to solve his problems. He decided to sell the stock of his company, and attempt to raise over $100 million. This stock deal becomes the focal point of Bob's investigation. Under tremendous pressure from his bosses and driven by his own ambition, Bob develops a very convincing case, but against the wrong people.A former assistant to Mathews and her boyfriend are charged with the crime. Bob soon realizes his mistake and nearly ruins his career trying to correct it, but it is almost too late. Just when the young lovers' convictions seem certain, Mathews' wife confesses to arranging the murder, and surprises everyone by revealing a motive far removed from greed.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780755200481
Publication date: 20th May 2002
Author: Mark Scott
Publisher: New Generation Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 188 pages
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Mark Scott

More About Mark Scott

Share this book