Search our site
Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron Read the opening extract of the brand new Sophie Cameron book before its publication on 22/03/2018

The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil by Wiley Miller

The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil

5+ readers   7+ readers   

Lovereading view...

A wonderful debut from an incredibly talented wordsmith and illustrator. Fans of The Wizard of Oz and James and the Giant Peach will love Basil and his erstwhile adventures. Basil is an ordinary boy living a very ordinary life in a lighthouse, but all that is about to change. Full of delightfully colourful illustrations, the story of Basil will delight those children who have developed the reading bug and want a real adventure to read alone.


The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil by Wiley Miller

Basil Pepperell is bored by his life and longs to break free from the lighthouse he calls home. At the invitation of the wonderfully eccentric professor who appears at Basil's window steering a flying boat, Basil travels to another dimension where he ends up saving the fantastic city of Helios from destruction at the hands of an evil genius.


'The total package makes for an exciting, accessible, well-produced short novel, perfect for those just beginning to get to grips with chapter books'
School Librarian

About the Author

Wiley Miller
Wiley Miller has always had one simple goal: "Produce the funniest, best-drawn cartoon possible, regardless of theme, subject matter or setting."

Wiley studied art at Virginia Commonwealth University and worked for several educational film studios in Los Angeles before joining the Greensboro, N.C., News & Record as staff artist/editorial cartoonist in 1976. After a stint at the Santa Rosa Press Democrat in California, he created his first syndicated strip, Fenton, in 1982. He returned to editorial cartooning three years later, joining the staff of the San Francisco Examiner.

In 1988, Wiley was named Best Editorial Cartoonist by the California Newspaper Publishers Association. He won the prestigious Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award for editorial cartooning in 1991.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th February 2008


Wiley Miller

More books by Wiley Miller
Author 'Like for Like'


Bloomsbury Publishing Plc


128 pages


5+ readers
7+ readers

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)



I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.


I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville