10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Say it with Poison (Mitchell & Markby 1)

View All Editions

£9.99 £8.99

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

About

Say it with Poison (Mitchell & Markby 1) Synopsis

Steering a path between police duties and family loyalty is not easy . . . Say it with Poison is the first classic English village crime novel in the Mitchell & Markby series by Ann Granger, combining a satisfyingly complex mystery with engaging characters and wit. The perfect read for fans of M.C. Beaton, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders. 'A gripping tale. . . . you'll soon be addicted' - Woman and Home When Meredith Mitchell agreed to stay with her actress cousin Eve in the run-up to Eve's daughter's wedding she anticipated a degree of drama. But she hardly expected it to include murder, blackmail and unrequited love. Or to involve a certain Chief Inspector Markby, a middle-aged divorcee with an emotional history as unfortunate as her own. A material witness to the only case of murder the Cotswold village of Westerfield has ever seen, Meredith also finds herself acting as mother-confessor to the bride-to-be, who is clearly not telling the whole truth about her involvement with the dead man. Steering a path between her duty to the police and loyalty to her cousin's family is not easy; even for someone with Meredith's considerable diplomatic skills. And especially as her personal enquiries into events in Westerfield start to disinter past affections Meredith would far rather leave buried - and to provoke new ones she's not at all sure she can cope with . . . What readers are saying about Say it with Poison: 'Thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a good English whodunit or just a really good story to keep the reader intrigued and interested to the last page' 'Hooked from the first page' 'Brilliant in its conception, kept me thoroughly enthralled'

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780747237068
Publication date: 5th September 1991
Author: Ann Granger
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Series: Mitchell & Markby
Genres: Crime and Mystery
Crime and mystery: women sleuths
Narrative theme: Love and relationships
Thriller and Suspense