Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Lost Girl A captivating tale of mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies

by Carol Drinkwater

The Lost Girl A captivating tale of mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies Synopsis

'A story to savour, complete with wonderful settings stretching from Paris to the glorious countryside of southern France' Dinah Jefferies A LOVEREADING BOOK OF THE YEAR Since her teenage daughter went missing four years ago, Kurtiz Ross has blamed and isolated herself. Until, out of the blue, Lizzie is sighted in Paris. But within hours of her arrival, Kurtiz sees the City of Light plunged into terror. Amid the fear and chaos, a hand reaches out. A sympathetic stranger offers to help a terrified mother find her daughter. The other woman's kindness - and her stories of her own love and loss in post-war Provence - shine unexpected light into the shadows. The night may hold the answers to a mystery - but dare Kurtiz believe it could also bring a miracle? 'A gripping tale' Sunday Post 'Mesmerising, haunting and extraordinarily relevant' Lovereading 'An unforgettable journey of family, romance, regret and renewal' The Gloss 'The perfect holiday read that manages to keep you guessing the whole way through' Living France

The Lost Girl A captivating tale of mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies Press Reviews

I loved this book. I kept snatching a few more pages whenever I could. It has left me wanting to head to warmer climes and take part in the grape and olive harvests. Well I can dream can't I? * Mumsnet * Gripping * Candis * This atmospheric read will whisk you straight to the South of France as you become immersed in the tale of secrets and heartbreak * Marie Claire * A lovely book packed with the sunshine, scents and savours of the South of France. Plenty of page-turning drama but also mouthwatering descriptions of Paris and Provence. Enough to make you rush straight to the Eurostar * Daily Mail * Secrets, tragedy, hidden pasts and family secrets all set in glorious Provence - I loved this -- Santa Montefiore Praise for The Forgotten Summer * - * Superb book . . . two different eras that tie in beautifully . . . I couldn't put the book down * NetGalley Reviewer * Great read and easy to follow, look forward to reading more * NetGalley Reviewer * A great book, one you become immersed in, highly recommended * NetGalley Reviewer * A brilliantly told story set against that dreadful night. The characters are superbly written . . . I couldn't put it down * NetGalley Reviewer * The Lost Girl is a story of love and loss, of sadness and great joy . . . Through a cast of frequently complex but immensely likeable characters, the author takes us on a journey - across five generations - that challenge a wide range of political, social and moral mores. Ultimately, The Lost Girl offers a message of hope and regeneration, in addition to the timely reminder that it is often darkest before the dawn * The Middle East * An emotional tale of loss and kindness * French Property News * A gripping tale * Sunday Post * Mesmerising, haunting and extraordinarily relevant * Lovereading * Carol Drinkwater is a great and compassionate writer -- Danuta Kean * Guardian * An unforgettable journey of family, romance, regret and renewal * The Gloss * The perfect holiday read that manages to keep you guessing the whole way through * Living France * Ranging across time periods this is a story to savour, complete with wonderful settings stretching from Paris to the occupied territory of the West Bank, and to the glorious countryside of southern France and La Cote d'Azur. Most of all I enjoyed the descriptions of France, particularly the 'wild heady scents', the sloping vineyards and the olive groves of the south. I felt I was breathing the fragrant air and eating dinner beneath the stars -- Dinah Jefferies * Number One Sunday Times bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780718183110
Publication date: 8th March 2018
Author: Carol Drinkwater
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 432 pages
Categories: Historical mysteries,

About Carol Drinkwater

Carol Drinkwater is a multi-award-winning actress who is best known for her portrayal of Helen Herriot in the BBC television series All Creatures Great and Small. She is also the author of over twenty books, both fiction and non-fiction. Her quartet of memoirs set on her olive farm in the south of France have sold over a million copies worldwide and her solo journey round the Mediterranean in search of the Olive tree's mythical secrets inspired a five-part documentary film series, The Olive Route. Carol lives in the south of France where she is writing her next novel.

More About Carol Drinkwater

More Books By Carol Drinkwater

Cover for The Lost Girl by Carol Drinkwater
Cover for The Forgotten Summer by Carol Drinkwater
Cover for The Forgotten Summer by Carol Drinkwater
View All Books By Carol Drinkwater

Share this book