Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Princes of Wales

by Deborah Fisher

Princes of Wales Synopsis

Did King Edward I really give his baby son the title he had stolen from Gwynedd's native princes? Or was the truth a little more complex? This up-to-date and concise overview covers the origins of the title, Prince of Wales, and the lives and activities of its twenty-one official holders since the Statute of Rhuddlan confirmed Edward's conquest of Wales in 1284. From tragic youths to seasoned warriors, from sickly children to men who held the title into old age, they are all here, in a 700-year panorama of British royalty. The first book on the subject for over twenty years, Deborah Fisher's Princes of Wales acts as a useful companion volume to the Pocket Guide on Princesses of Wales by the same author. Readers will find that, just as with the princesses, the personalities of the princes, revealed in their public and private lives, are enormously varied, and yet they are bound together by many a common thread.

Princes of Wales Press Reviews

This volume will be an admirable companion volume to the previous work, will be well received and constitute a most welcome addition to the highly acclaimed Pocket Guide series. Dr. J. Graham Jones, Senior Archivist and Head of the Welsh Political Archive Department of Collections Services, National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780708320037
Publication date: 27th November 2006
Author: Deborah Fisher
Publisher: University of Wales Press
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 144 pages
Categories: Biography: historical, political & military, Biography: royalty,

About Deborah Fisher

Deborah Fisher is a freelance writer and local historian. She is the author of two UWP titles: Princesses of Wales (2005) and Princes of Wales (2006).

More About Deborah Fisher

Share this book