LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

A Place to Call Home

by Val Wood

A Place to Call Home Synopsis

Val Wood's wonderful historical sagas are perfect for readers of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin. Ellen thought she'd always live in the remote, pretty coastal village where she grew up. After all, her husband, Harry, works on a farm where he's guaranteed a job and home for life. But when the old landowner dies and the couple and their young children are forced from their cottage, the future is suddenly bleak. Rather than stay - and starve - in the countryside they love, Harry sets out to find a job in the factories and mills of nearby Hull, and Ellen must leave behind everything she's ever known to follow her husband and build a new life for her family on the unfamiliar city streets. The road ahead is full of hardships and challenges. But with love and determination, they make the best of things, forging friendships with other newcomers and refugees; even helping them to succeed in their new surroundings. Then tragedy threatens Ellen's fragile happiness. How much more can she sacrifice before they find a place to call home?

A Place to Call Home Press Reviews

[A] finely crafted historical story with unforgettable characters and a feisty heroine * Peterborough Telegraph *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780593078495
Publication date: 29th November 2018
Author: Val Wood
Publisher: Bantam Press an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 352 pages
Categories: Historical romance, Sagas,

About Val Wood

Since winning the Catherine Cookson Prize for Fiction for her first novel, The Hungry Tide, Val Wood has become one of the most popular authors in the UK. Born in the mining town of Castleford, Val came to East Yorkshire as a child and has lived in Hull and rural Holderness where many of her novels are set. She now lives in the market town of Beverley. When she is not writing, Val is busy promoting libraries and supporting many charities. In 2017 she was awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Hull for service and dedication to literature. Find ...

More About Val Wood

More Books By Val Wood

Cover for No Place for a Woman by Val Wood
Cover for Every Mother's Son by Val Wood
Cover for Every Mother's Son by Val Wood
View All Books By Val Wood

Share this book