W. B. Yeats

by W. B. Yeats

W. B. Yeats Synopsis

W. B. Yeats (1865-1939) was not only Ireland's greatest poet but one of the most influential voices in world literature in the twentieth century. His extraordinary work, in the words of this volume's editor Seamus Heaney, encourages us 'to be more resolutely and abundantly alive, whatever the conditions.' Other volumes in this series: Auden, Betjemen, Eliot, Hughes and Plath

Book Information

ISBN: 9780571247349
Publication date: 7th May 2009
Author: W. B. Yeats
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 160 pages
Categories: Poetry by individual poets,

About W. B. Yeats

W. B. Yeats (1865-1939) was born in Dublin and was educated in Ireland and England. He was instrumental in the development of a national Irish theatre - and in particular the founding of the Abbey Theatre. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1923. Seamus Heaney was born in County Derry in Northern Ireland. Death of a Naturalist, his first collection of poems, appeared in 1966, and was followed by poetry, criticism and translations which established him as the leading poet of his generation. In 1995 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, and twice won the Whitbread Book of ...

More About W. B. Yeats

Share this book