Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Rattle Bag An Anthology of Poetry

by Seamus Heaney

The Rattle Bag An Anthology of Poetry Synopsis

Edited by Seamus Heaney and Ted Hughes, and conceived of as a collection of their own favourite poems, The Rattle Bag has established itself as the classic anthology of our time. Heaney and Hughes have brought together an inspired and diverse selection, ranging from undisputed masterpieces to rare discoveries, as well as drawing upon works in translation and traditional poems from oral cultures. In effect, this anthology has transformed the way we define and appreciate poetry, and it will continue to do so for years to come. Including writers from Shakespeare and Blake to Sylvia Plath and T. S. Eliot, The Rattle Bag is eclectic, instructive and inspiring at the same time.

The Rattle Bag An Anthology of Poetry Press Reviews

'A must for anyone who likes poetry.' Melvyn Bragg, Sunday Times

Book Information

ISBN: 9780571225835
Publication date: 17th March 2005
Author: Seamus Heaney
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 496 pages
Categories: Poetry,

About Seamus Heaney

Seamus Heaney was born in County Derry in Northern Ireland. In 1995 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. Ted Hughes (1930-1998) was born in Yorkshire. He was Poet Laureate from 1984, and in 1998 he was appointed to the Order of Merit.

More About Seamus Heaney

More Books By Seamus Heaney

Cover for Human Chain by Seamus Heaney
Cover for Human Chain by Seamus Heaney
Cover for District and Circle by Seamus Heaney
View All Books By Seamus Heaney

Share this book