10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Girl From The South

View All Editions

£9.99 £8.99

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

About

Girl From The South Synopsis

Multi-million copy bestselling author Joanna Trollope's sharp eye for family relationships and the intricacies of being human will appeal to readers of Erica James, Elizabeth Noble and Amanda Prowse. Full of her customary wit and wonderfully sharp characterisation, Girl from the South is an enthralling novel you won't be able to put down. 'She writes so beautifully...' -- Evening Standard 'Joanna Trollope is a wonderful novelist of domestic detail... Girl From the South is, like all her books, a really good read, spiked with insight' -- Observer 'Finely-observed family tensions' -- Sunday Mirror 'At the heart of Trollope's tightly written, acutely observed novel is what it means to be a family' -- New Statesman 'Couldn't stop reading it' -- ***** Reader review '[I] was really sorry to get to the end of it' -- ***** Reader review 'Absorbing. Loved it' -- ***** Reader review 'A must read' -- ***** Reader review ********************************************************************** CAN LONG-TERM HOPES AND DREAMS HOLD FAST IN THE FACE OF AN EXOTIC WIND OF CHANGE? Gillon - red-haired, intelligent, vulnerable - comes to London to escape from the demands of her wealthy, conventional, socially superior family in Charleston, South Carolina. An art historian, she has a chance meeting with Tilly, whose long-term boyfriend Henry is a wildlife photographer who is finding it hard to commit. Before long Gillon has moved into their flat, replacing Henry's old mate William, William's on-off-girlfriend Susie, and a lots of mess and disorganisation. Things are changing, and Tilly finds it difficult to accept that her dreams of settling down with Henry are receding further into the distance, especially when Henry announces that he is going to South Carolina to photograph the abundant wildlife of the area. There, Henry is wholly seduced by the charms of Charleston, by Gillon's family, and by the old patrician way of life which presents itself. The rules seem to be changing, the time passing by, and the future is becoming less and less certain...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780552770873
Publication date: 3rd February 2003
Author: Joanna Trollope
Publisher: Black Swan an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: Modern and Contemporary Fiction