Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Barnaby Grimes: Curse of the Night Wolf

by Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell

Part of the Barnaby Grimes Series

Barnaby Grimes: Curse of the Night Wolf Synopsis

Barnaby Grimes is a tick-tock lad, running errands in his city, day and night, and 'high-stacking' around the rooftops in search of new mysteries to solve. In this first adventure, Barnaby is attacked one night by an enormous dog. He kills it - but that's not the end of this particular mystery . . . as Barnaby finds himself swept up in a world of crooked doctors, poor and ill-advised patients, strange tonics and very expensive furs... Could there be more to the seemingly respectable Dr Cadwallader and the tonics he doles out to the poor? Is there a link between the tonic and the huge dogs - or possibly wolves - that are roaming the city at night? When Barnaby's old acquaintance Benjamin goes missing, Barnaby fears the worst for him, and decides to dig deeper... A fantastic romp through a Dickensian-style city, with a wonderful new hero in the guise of Barnaby. This new series from the bestselling dream team of Stewart and Riddell is a must for all fans of the Edge Chronicles - but also for fans of Horowitz and Shan, as they move into new territory and deliver a brilliantly exciting thriller-horror for boys.

Barnaby Grimes: Curse of the Night Wolf Press Reviews

Chris Riddell's spindly spidery illustrations . . . capture perfectly the eccentric ebullient nature of the book . . . Quite graphic in its violence, this one will be relished by boys of nine and up -- Philip Womack * Literary Review * It is a page-turning adventure, written with gusto and inventiveness * The Sunday Times * Thrilling and often downright frightening * Through the Looking Glass * The spine felt a definite tingle, but the stomach never lurched . . . the writing is superb. It delivers a period feel without ever descending into pastiche. Highly recommended * thebookbag.co.uk * Don't miss this Dickensian thriller! * Kraze Club *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780552556217
Publication date: 3rd January 2008
Author: Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell
Publisher: Corgi Childrens an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 224 pages
Categories: Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage), Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage), Thrillers (Children's / Teenage),

About Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell

Chris Riddell (Author) Chris Riddell is an acclaimed artist of children's books and a political cartoonist for the Observer. Amongst other titles, Chris illustrates the Ottoline young fiction series and the Goth Girl series, as well as working closely with Paul Stewart on the Edge Chronicles and Wyrmeweald. Children's Laureate from 2015-2017, he has won many awards for his work, including the Nestle Gold Award, the UNESCO Award for Something Else and the rare honour of three Kate Greenaway Medals.Paul Stewart (Author) Paul Stewart is a highly regarded author of books for young readers - everything from picture books ...

More About Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell

Share this book