LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Immortalists

by Chloe Benjamin

Immortalists Synopsis

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER';A captivating family saga.'TheNew York Times Book Review';You won't be ableto put it down.'TheSkimm (Skimm Reads Pick)';This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.'People Magazine (Book of the Week)';A sprawling, enchanting family saga.'Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a ';great new talent.'If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold childrenfour adolescents on the cusp of self-awarenesssneak out to hear their fortunes.The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780525497646
Publication date: 9th January 2018
Author: Chloe Benjamin
Publisher: Books on Tape Books on Tape
Format: eBook
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Chloe Benjamin

More About Chloe Benjamin

More Books By Chloe Benjamin

Cover for The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin
Cover for The Anatomy of Dreams  by Chloe Benjamin
Cover for The Immortalists  by Chloe Benjamin
View All Books By Chloe Benjamin

Share this book