Tales of the Jazz Age Synopsis

Fitzgerald's second collection of short stories, Tales of the Jazz Age (1922), includes two masterpieces - 'May Day' and 'The Diamond as Big as the Ritz' - as well as other stories from his earlier career. Tales of the Jazz Age reproduces the original collection in full, along with several uncollected stories from the early 1920s, including 'Dice, Brassknuckles and Guitar', a 1923 narrative which closely anticipates the themes and characters of The Great Gatsby. In his introduction James L. W. West, III offers an account of the textual history of the stories, reconstructs Fitzgerald's decisions about which stories to include and exclude, and examines reproductions of surviving manuscripts and typescripts. He supplies a full record of variants, tracing Fitzgerald's extensive revisions to the stories, and he provides detailed historical notes, references and glosses.

Tales of the Jazz Age Press Reviews

Tales of the Jazz Age is a superb edition of classic literature that would grace any academic or library collection--and is 'must' reading for F. Scott Fitzgerald enthusiasts and fans. The Midwest Book Review

Book Information

ISBN: 9780521402385
Publication date: 18th July 2002
Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 568 pages
Categories: Anthologies (non-poetry), Short stories,

About F. Scott Fitzgerald

James L. W. West III is Edwin Erle Sparks Professor of English at Pennsylvania State University, where he directs the Penn State Center for the History of the Book. He is author of a number of books including, most recently, William Styron: A Life (1998), and he is editor of Fitzgerald's Trimalchio, an early version of The Great Gatsby (Cambridge University Press, 2001).

More About F. Scott Fitzgerald

More Books By F. Scott Fitzgerald

Cover for The Last Tycoon by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Cover for The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Cover for Tales of the Jazz Age by F. Scott Fitzgerald
View All Books By F. Scott Fitzgerald

Share this book