Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Memory of Water/ Five Kinds of Silence

by Shelagh Stephenson

Part of the Modern Plays Series

The Memory of Water/ Five Kinds of Silence Synopsis

In The Memory of Water (winner of the 2000 Laurence Olivier Award for Best Comedy), three sisters meet on the eve of their mother's funeral. As the conflicts of the past converge, everyday lies and tensions reveal the particular patterns and strains of family relationships. ' Combines a flair for witty dialogue with a relish for the dynamics of theatre ...a mistress of comic anguish GuardianFive Kinds of Silence (winner of the 1996 Writers' Guild Award for Best Original Radio Play and the 1997 Sony Award for Best Original Drama) is the story of a family in which control has become the driving force, where everything has its place, and where there are only rules, duties and punishments. An acute and funny writer, Stephenson carves out a welcome territory that is distinctive, contemporary and theatrical Independent

Book Information

ISBN: 9780413714701
Publication date: 3rd July 1997
Author: Shelagh Stephenson
Publisher: Methuen Drama an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 144 pages
Categories: Plays, playscripts,

About Shelagh Stephenson

More About Shelagh Stephenson

Share this book