Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Quartet Synopsis

Quartet, Jean Rhys's first novel, launched her literary career in the late 1920s, and today remains an incisive, sinister tale of love and obsession. After her husband, Stephan, is arrested, Marya finds herself destitute in Paris. With nowhere else to turn, she accepts the hospitality of an English couple living on the fringes of the artistic world. Yet as Marya is drawn inexorably into their universe, she becomes entangled in a bizarre sexual and psychological relationship that frightens even as it fascinates her-and as the date of Stephan's release from prison draws near, Marya's new life splits apart at the seams.

Quartet Press Reviews

Rhys tells her story with the miraculous spontaneity of all her writing, and in the tone of one who keeps calm while reporting a catastrophe. -- Shirley Hazzard - New York Times Book Review

Book Information

ISBN: 9780393358117
Publication date: 27th October 2020
Author: Jean Rhys, Claire Messud
Publisher: WW Norton & Co
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 224 pages
Categories: Classic fiction (pre c 1945), Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Jean Rhys, Claire Messud

Jean Rhys (1890-1979), one of the foremost writers of the twentieth century, is the author of Wide Sargasso Sea. Claire Messud is a recipient of Guggenheim and Radcliffe Fellowships and the Strauss Living Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She is the author of six works of fiction including the New York Times bestsellers The Emperor's Children and The Burning Girl, which was also a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. She lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts, with her family.

More About Jean Rhys, Claire Messud

Share this book