twitter debuts of the month
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Selected Canterbury Tales A New Verse Translation by Geoffrey Chaucer

The Selected Canterbury Tales A New Verse Translation


The Selected Canterbury Tales A New Verse Translation by Geoffrey Chaucer

In the tradition of Seamus Heaney's Beowulf and Marie Borroff's Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Sheila Fisher's The Selected Canterbury Tales is a vivid, lively, and readable translation of the most famous work of England's premier medieval poet. Preserving Chaucer's rhyme and meter, Fisher makes these tales accessible to a contemporary ear while inviting readers to the Middle English original on facing pages. Her informative introduction highlights Chaucer's artistic originality in his memorable portrayals of surprisingly modern women and men from across the spectrum of medieval society.


Shelia Fisher's vibrant new verse translation captures in contemporary English the rhymes, the rhythms, the wit, the earnestness, and the game of the best-known Canterbury Tales. -- Warren Ginsberg, Knight Professor of the Humanities, Univeristy of Oregon In setting the scene for an informed understanding of Chaucer and his background, Fisher shows herself a true professional. -- Peter Green - New Republic

About the Author

Sheila Fisher is a professor of English at Trinity College. She lives in Sandy Hook, Connecticut.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th April 2012


Geoffrey Chaucer

More books by Geoffrey Chaucer
Author 'Like for Like'


WW Norton & Co


800 pages


Poetry by individual poets



Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins