LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

When Darkness Calls

by Mark Griffin

Part of the The Holly Wakefield Thrillers Series

When Darkness Calls Synopsis

'A thrilling new talent' Peter James 'Utterly compelling' Lesley Kara 'Wow . . . As many twists and turns as a rollercoaster!' Amy Lloyd 'Mightily impressive . . . Deviously plotted' Daily Mail *LONGLISTED FOR THE 2019 CWA DEBUT DAGGER AWARD* The first thriller in the gritty and gripping Holly Wakefield series, perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Angela Marsons, Stuart MacBride and the TV's Luther and Line of Duty. Holly Wakefield works for the NHS as a criminal psychologist specialising in serial killers. She has particular reason to be good at her job - but she keeps that to herself. When DI Bishop from the Met Police approaches Holly to investigate a recent killing, Holly is horrified by the dismembered bodies and the way they have been theatrically positioned. More shocking still is when the pathologist reveals this is not the first time she has seen these mutilations. It means a serial killer is out there, and they're going to kill again - soon. Holly is used to chasing serial killers. But this killer has something in common with Holly that she's kept hidden for as long as she can remember. And for the first time since she was a child, Holly is forced to face the darkness of her past . . . What readers are saying about When Darkness Calls: 'Gripping, shocking, nail biting!' Reader review, 5 stars 'A must read book!' Reader review, 5 stars 'Outstanding!' Reader review, 5 stars 'A moving, intense rollercoaster!' Reader review, 5 stars 'You have to read this book!' Reader review, 5 stars 'Dark, twisty and disturbing' Reader review, 5 stars 'Brilliant . . . you won't want to put it down' Reader review, 5 stars 'Compulsive' Reader review, 5 stars 'One of the very best books I've read' Reader review, 5 stars 'Couldn't put it down!' Reader review, 5 stars 'I was glued to this cover to cover' Reader review, 5 stars 'Absolutely loved this . . . It had me completely engrossed' Reader review, 5 stars 'Captivating, thrilling and brilliant' Reader review, 5 stars 'I lost count of how many times I held my breath - fantastic twists and turns' Reader review, 5 stars 'A fast-paced, page-turning thriller' Reader review, 5 stars 'So gripping, so cleverly written' Reader review, 5 stars 'An amazing storyline that kept me hooked' Reader review, 5 stars ***Pre-order the second Holly Wakefield thriller, When Angels Sleep, now***

When Darkness Calls Press Reviews

Meticulously plotted and devious in its execution, Mark Griffin's debut novel is utterly compelling. I can't wait to read the rest of the Holly Wakefield series -- Lesley Kara, bestselling author of The Rumour Wow. I read this in less than a day. As many twists and turns as a rollercoaster! A fascinating lead character with a deliciously dark secret. It's the kind of writing which grabs you and won't let you go -- Amy Lloyd, bestselling author of The Innocent Wife Mark Griffin is a thrilling new talent, destined to become a big name in British crime writing -- Peter James Mightily impressive . . . deviously plotted, with a bleak thread of intriguing twists * Daily Mail *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780349420745
Publication date: 30th October 2018
Author: Mark Griffin
Publisher: Piatkus Books an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 400 pages
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense,

About Mark Griffin

Mark Griffin began his writing career when he was a teenager, with three successive years of gold medal awards in the Hampshire Writing Festival. In 1996 he moved to Los Angeles, where he turned his attention to acting, script writing and development. After returning to England, Mark continued in this profession, and in April 2017 was shortlisted in the top five out of 3500 entrants in a national crime thriller writing competition sponsored by Random House Publishing and the Daily Mail for his debut, When Darkness Calls. When Darkness Calls is the first thriller starring criminal psychologist Holly Wakefield and it was longlisted ...

More About Mark Griffin

More Books By Mark Griffin

Cover for When Darkness Calls by Mark Griffin
Cover for When Angels Sleep  by Mark Griffin
Cover for All That Heaven Allows  by Mark Griffin
View All Books By Mark Griffin

Share this book