The House of the Hanged Woman

Hardback edition released 26/11/2020

by Kate Ellis

Part of the Albert Lincoln Series

The House of the Hanged Woman Synopsis

'A beguiling author who interweaves past and present' The Times 'A powerful story of loss, malice and deception' Ann Cleeves 1921. When a Member of Parliament goes missing in a small Derbyshire village, Scotland Yard detective Albert Lincoln is sent up North to investigate. This isn't Albert's first visit to Wenfield. He once solved a traumatic case there at great personal cost and now, two years later, it seems that darkness still lurks in the village. The naked body of a man has been discovered, mutilated beyond recognition, by an ancient stone circle called the Devil's Dancers. The local police assume the body is that of the missing politician, but when that identification proves false and more strange deaths occur, Albert realises his case is far more complex than a simple disappearance. But, as he reawakens ghosts from the past, will he be able to solve the mystery surrounding Wenfield once and for all? The third and final historical thriller in the Albert Lincoln series by award-winning crime writer Kate Ellis. An atmospheric, spellbinding mystery set in the aftermath of the Great War. Praise for Kate Ellis: 'Haunting' Independent 'Fascinating, with a characteristically clever twist' Martin Edwards 'The chilling plot will keep you spooked and thrilled to the end' Closer 'A splendidly macabre thriller' Andrew Taylor 'Extraordinarily powerful' Peter Lovesey 'This could be an instant classic' L. C. Tyler

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780349418360
Publication date: 26th November 2020
Author: Kate Ellis
Publisher: Piatkus Books an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 400 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780349418384
Publication date: 27/05/2021
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780349418360
Publication date: 26/11/2020
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Kate Ellis

Kate Ellis was born and brought up in Liverpool and studied drama in Manchester. She is the award-winning author of the DI Wesley Peterson detective novels, as well the Albert Lincoln trilogy and the Joe Plantagenet mysteries. Kate has won the CWA Dagger in the Library Award for her crime writing. She has also twice been shortlisted for the CWA Short Story Dagger and been longlisted for the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. Visit her online at:

More About Kate Ellis

More Books By Kate Ellis

The House of the Hanged Woman
The House of the Hanged Woman
The House of the Hanged Woman
View All Books By Kate Ellis

Share this book