The Man with the Silver Saab

Paperback edition released 05/05/2022

by Alexander McCall Smith

Part of the Detective Varg Series

Crime and Mystery

LoveReading Expert Review of The Man with the Silver Saab

Brilliantly observed and infused with frissons of unfulfilled romance, this third Detective Varg novel is a thoughtful, funny, escapist delight.

An alluring blend of English and Scandi wit and whimsy, Alexander McCall Smith’s Detective Varg series is an addictive joy. The Man with the Silver Saab, the third in the sequence, sees Ulf, of Malmo’s Department of Sensitive Crimes, fall for a colleague as he tries to solve a case involving a respected art historian who’s been implicated in fraudulent misidentification.


As always, Ulf’s hearing-impaired dog, Martin, is prominent. In this instance, the novel kicks off with an unfortunate incident involving Martin and an aggressive squirrel that prompts Ulf to muse on the fact that “a big thing happens while small things are going on around it”.


Ulf’s internal dialogues remain at the fore, too, and really they’re at this heart of this series, along with the first-rate, funny dialogue, and a twisting, labyrinthine plot that sees Ulf and Blomquist almost lose themselves in a maze of art world intrigue. 

Joanne Owen

The Man with the Silver Saab Synopsis

The third book in Alexander McCall Smith's new DETECTIVE VARG series

Perplexing, unfathomable and perhaps unimportant, the cases that Malmo's Department of Sensitive Crimes take on will test them to their limits.

Life - and crime - is not always as it seems for Ulf Varg and the other fearless detectives in Malmo's Department of Sensitive Crimes. There are always surprising new cases to take on, and the latest batch is no exception. And that's not to mention Ulf's struggle to contain his feelings for his colleague Anna Bengsdotter. All in all, things are distinctly difficult in Malmo, and it seems up to Ulf and the Department to set them right.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780349144788
Publication date: 5th May 2022
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Publisher: Abacus an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 240 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Be in with a Chance of Winning Our Latest Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Be in with a Chance of Winning Our Latest Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/07/2022

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to July. A perfect opportunity to stock up on some brilliant reads to enjoy this summer. The titles up for grabs are: Quicksand of Memory by Michael J. Malone - Published 14th April The Shot by Sarah Sultoon - Published 28th April Keep Her Sweet by Helen Fitzgerald - Published 26th May Little Drummer by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 26th May Nothing Else by Louise Beech - Published 23rd June Tasting Sunlight by Ewald Arenz - Published 23rd June The Daves Next Door by Will Carver - Published 21st July This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st July 2022. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

Piece of My Heart
The Dangerous Game
Where the Crawdads Sing
The Botanist

Alexander McCall Smith Press Reviews

Alexander McCall Smith is talented and prolific . . . His prose is leisurely. You feel the rights words come to him naturally without painful search . . . he is a reassuring writer - Yorkshire Post

'McCall Smith's continuing warm-heartedness makes Ulf such unfailingly good company' Reader's Digest

'Like AA Milne meets Karl Ove Knausgaard' Financial Times

'Wonderfully soothing and relaxing' Daily Telegraph

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780349144788
Publication date: 05/05/2022
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Alexander McCall Smith

Alexander McCall Smith is the author of the highly successful No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, which has sold over twenty-five million copies. Since then he has devoted his time to the writing of fiction and has seen his various series of books translated into over forty-six languages and become bestsellers throughout the world. These include the 44 Scotland Street novels, first published as a serial novel in the Scotsman, the Isabel Dalhousie novels, the Von Igelfeld series and the Corduroy Mansions novels. — New York Times Alexander McCall Smith, often referred to as ‘Sandy’,  ...

More About Alexander McCall Smith

More Books By Alexander McCall Smith

The Man with the Silver Saab
The Man with the Silver Saab
The Man with the Silver Saab
View All Books By Alexander McCall Smith

Share this book