House of Glass

Hardback edition released 01/11/2018

by Susan Fletcher

House of Glass Synopsis

I had a curious sense of being watched. June 1914 and a young woman - Clara Waterfield - is summoned to a large stone house in Gloucestershire. Her task: to fill a greenhouse with exotic plants from Kew Gardens, to create a private paradise for the owner of Shadowbrook. Yet, on arrival, Clara hears rumours: something is wrong with this quiet, wisteria-covered house. Its gardens are filled with foxgloves, hydrangea and roses; it has lily-ponds, a croquet lawn - and the marvellous new glasshouse awaits her. But the house itself feels unloved. Its rooms are shuttered, or empty. The owner is mostly absent; the housekeeper and maids seem afraid. And soon, Clara understands their fear: for something - or someone - is walking through the house at night. In the height of summer, she finds herself drawn deeper into Shadowbrook's dark interior - and into the secrets that violently haunt this house. Nothing - not even the men who claim they wish to help her - is quite what it seems. Reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier, this is a wonderful, atmospheric Gothic page-turner. A deeply absorbing, unputdownable ghost story that's also a love story; for readers who love Sarah Waters's The Little Stranger; Frances Hodges Burnett's The Secret Garden; Margaret Atwood's Alias Grace; Jane Harris's The Observations.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780349007649
Publication date: 1st November 2018
Author: Susan Fletcher
Publisher: Virago Press Ltd an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 368 pages
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780349007670
Publication date: 06/06/2019
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780349007649
Publication date: 01/11/2018
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Susan Fletcher

Susan Fletcher was born in 1979 in Birmingham. She is the author of the bestselling Eve Green (winner of the Whitbread First Novel Award), Oystercatchers and Witch Light - and most recently, the much-lauded Let Me Tell You About A Man I Knew.

More About Susan Fletcher

More Books By Susan Fletcher

House of Glass
House of Glass
House of Glass
View All Books By Susan Fletcher

Share this book