twitter Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three) by Richard Blake
  

The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three)

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Synopsis

The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three) by Richard Blake

The third book of the DEATH OF ROME SAGA, perfect for readers of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.612 AD.Aelric of England has become the Lord Senator Alaric and the trusted Legate of the Emperor Heraclius. He's now in Alexandria, to send Egypt's harvest to Constantinople, and to force the unwilling Viceroy to give land to the peasants. But the city, with its factions and conspirators - thwarts him at every turn. And when an old enemy from Constantinople arrives, supposedly on a quest for a religious relic that could turn the course of the Persian war, the ensuing chaos may be enough to rip Egypt - and Aelric - apart.

Reviews

Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot ... I enjoyed it very much. -- Derek Jacobi, star of * I, Claudius and Gladiator * It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy. * The Morning Star * If you like your Dark Age stories to be, well - particularly dark - then you'll love this. - * Historical Novels Review * As always, Blake writes with immense historical and classical erudition, while displaying an ability to render 1500-year-old conversations in realistically colloquial English. * C4SS *


About the Author

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.www.richardblake.me.uk

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

17th February 2011

Author

Richard Blake

More books by Richard Blake
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Historical adventure

ISBN

9780340951170

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools