LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Tars Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War

by Tim Clayton

Tars Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War Synopsis

TARS is a gripping firsthand account of life in the Royal Navy at its bloodiest and most temptestuous phase, beginning in 1758. Through the lives of the main protagonists - a small band of sailors from across the ranks - TRAFALGAR author Tim Clayton paints a vivid picture of the navy and the era, from close-quarter battles and roistering on the streets of London to the political decisions that built up and knocked down empires. In this death-or-glory era the navy became the main weapon of an aggressive and power-hungry government, and fighting at sea was carried out at ever-closer quarters and with ever-increasing amounts of firepower. Using never-before published first-person sources, TARS takes us through these men's daily struggles as Britain navigated her course on the political map.

Tars Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War Press Reviews

Vivid and compelling . . . an account of significant importance. * Naval Review on TRAFALGAR * A landmark book. * Observer on TRAFALGAR * Excellent . . . comprehensively researched, vividly written and judiciously argued. Wonderfully detailed pen portraits . . . Much new material from French and Spanish sources gives a rounded picture . . . it is this perspective from both sides of the battle that makes the book so compelling. * Saul David, Daily Telegraph on TRAFALGAR * 'Ideal for fans of Patrick O'Brien' * Bookseller * engaging and original, Tars is an impressive book that deserves a wide readership. * International Journal of Maritime History * Accessible, well researched, and a true literary masterpiece. * Mountbatten Maritime Award *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780340898031
Publication date: 12th June 2008
Author: Tim Clayton
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 400 pages
Categories: Naval forces & warfare, Military history,

About Tim Clayton

Tim Clayton has written extensively on nineteenth and twentieth-century cultural history.

More About Tim Clayton

More Books By Tim Clayton

Cover for Waterloo Four Days That Changed Europe's Destiny by Tim Clayton
View All Books By Tim Clayton

Share this book