win prizes
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Time's Echo by Pamela Hartshorne


Time's Echo by Pamela Hartshorne

FOR FANS OF KATE MOSSE, PHILIPPA GREGORY AND DIANA GABALDON, COMES THIS POWERFUL TALE OF OBSESSION AND DESIRE. York , 1577: Hawise Aske smiles at a stranger in the market, and sets in train a story of obsession and sibling jealousy, of love and hate and warped desire. Drowned as a witch, Hawise pays a high price for that smile, but for a girl like her in Elizabethan York, there is nowhere to go and nowhere to hide. Four and a half centuries later, Grace Trewe, who has travelled the world, is trying to outrun the memories of being caught up in the Boxing Day tsunami. Her stay in York is meant to be a brief one. But in York Grace discovers that time can twist and turn in ways she never imagined. Drawn inexorably into Hawise's life, Grace finds that this time she cannot move on. Will she too be engulfed in the power of the past?

About the Author

After an earlier career spent working and travelling around the world, including stints as cook on an outback cattle station, interpreter on expedition in Cameroon and English teacher in Jakarta, Pamela Hartshorne stumbled into writing as a way of funding a PhD in Medieval Studies. Settling at last in York, for several years she combined academic research with a successful career as a romance writer. Her thesis on the streets of later medieval and early modern York was finally completed in 2004 and she continues to work (very slowly) on a scholarly edition of the wardmote court records that formed the basis of her research. The Memory of Midnight is her second novel based on her study of Elizabethan York and written under her real name.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th August 2012


Pamela Hartshorne

More books by Pamela Hartshorne
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website


Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan


480 pages
Interest Age: From 18 years


Historical romance



Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton