LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Bouncing Back

by Scott Ostler

Bouncing Back Synopsis

Thirteen year-old Carlos Cooper is used to being the star of the team. Back in his old basketball league, he took every shot he possibly could--even if he had to steal it from a teammate--and he made every single one of them. But on his new wheelchair basketball team, he's back to being just one of the players--nothing special, nothing talented. But when his team's gym is closed down by the city, Carlos soon finds himself even more adrift. Without the gym, they can't practice, and if they can't practice, they might as well kiss their dreams of the State Championship goodbye. It's only by learning to work together--as a team--that Carlos and the Rollin' Rats will be able to save their gym. And it's only by learning what it takes to be a member of that team that Carlos will be able to fully embrace his new friends. With action-packed basketball scenes, plenty of humour, and lots of heart, this debut novel from a beloved sports writer is perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Bouncing Back Press Reviews

My old friend Scott Ostler has always written a sports column informed by humor and heart. Now he gives us a novel about a boy, and his teammates, who will get into your heart and won't get out. --Mike Lupica, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Heat and Travel Team Enjoyable.... Perfect for middle grade fans of Mike Lupica. --School Library Journal * The multi-tiered plot moves quickly, the characters are engaging, and the wheelchair basketball is a unique premise, but the real draw in this debut novel from sportswriter Ostler are the vivid descriptions of basketball action. Of equal interest to boys and girls, this strikes just the right notes about teamwork, friendship, and acceptance. --Booklist, starred review A sports story that's as heartwarming as it is action-packed. --Kirkus Reviews Praise for Bouncing Back A wonderful story of friendship and the unique ability of kids to overcome a challenge. Inspiring for young athletes and non-athletes alike. --Mitch Albom, #1 New York Times bestselling author; Sports Columnist, Detroit Free Press; panelist, ESPN's The Sports Reporters

Book Information

ISBN: 9780316524766
Publication date: 12th November 2020
Author: Scott Ostler
Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers an imprint of Little, Brown & Company
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 304 pages
Categories: Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage),

About Scott Ostler

Scott Ostler is a sports columnist for The San Francisco Chronicle, and previously for The Los Angeles Times. He has been voted California Sportswriter of the Year fourteen times. Ostler has covered major sports all over the world, and his writing has been published in national publications from Sports Illustrated to Parenting. Scott is the author of five nonfiction books for adults; Bouncing Back is his debut novel.

More About Scott Ostler

More Books By Scott Ostler

Cover for Bouncing Back by Scott Ostler
View All Books By Scott Ostler

Share this book