Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

books of the month debuts of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

American Elsewhere by Robert Jackson Bennett
  

Synopsis

American Elsewhere by Robert Jackson Bennett

Some places are too good to be true.Under a pink moon, there is a perfect little town not found on any map.In that town, there are quiet streets lined with pretty houses, houses that conceal the strangest things.After a couple years of hard traveling, ex-cop Mona Bright inherits her long-dead mother's home in Wink, New Mexico. And the closer Mona gets to her mother's past, the more she understands that the people of Wink are very, very different...From one of our most talented and original new literary voices comes the next great American supernatural novel: a work that explores the dark dimensions of the hometowns and the neighbours we thought we knew.

Reviews

The Troupe is true magic: a gripping tale that reminds the audience why we fell in love with reading. This book enchants, leaving the audience on their feet, yelling for an encore. --Mat Johnson . ..Bennett's finely crafted novel rises on a wave of suspense to a place of beauty and hope. -- Publishers Weekly on The Troupe Like a collaboration between Stephen King and John Steinbeck. -- Publishers Weekly on Mr. Shivers Mr. Shivers is a startling debut, a deft amalgam of thriller, cerebral horror and American gothic, written with a stark and artful simplicity that complements the examination of struggling humanity pushed to its limits. -- The Guardian (UK) Highly impressive. -- Kirkus Reviews

American Elsewhere conjures up echoes of the best works of Ray Bradbury and Stephen King. ... American Elsewhere manages to surprise, terrify and move the reader.

Los Angeles Times

Highly impressive.

Kirkus Reviews

Mad and humorous, gory and poignant, American Elsewhere is a sort of mid-20th-century retelling of the embodiment of Lovecraftian Elder Gods by way of Alamogordo's legendary atomic tests. It's not to be missed.

Seattle Times

So American Elsewhere is basically so good that I want to camp outside @robertjbennett's house until he tells me his secret.

Adam Christopher

So American Elsewhere is basically so good that I want to camp outside @robertjbennett's house until he tells me his secret. --Adam Christopher Mad and humorous, gory and poignant, American Elsewhere is a sort of mid-20th-century retelling of the embodiment of Lovecraftian Elder Gods by way of Alamogordo's legendary atomic tests. It's not to be missed.--Seattle Times The novel starts out curious and odd but quickly becomes terrifying and haunting, as the author reveals more about the people of Wink, who just may be the most curious and intimidating collection of folks you're likely to meet outside the pages of Stephen King.... A beautifully written, claustrophobic, and deeply memorable horror novel. --Booklist Bennett gives the idealized image of the American dream a pan-dimensional twist with this alien invasion tale, part Bradbury and part L'Engle with a dash of Edward Scissorhands... Readers will be captivated from start to finish. --Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on American Elsewhere Bennett's novel may remind readers of the early works of Stephen King, presenting a small town where nothing is what it seems.... Bennett's work also evokes a mood similar to that of Mark Z. Danielewski's House of Leaves, where every darkness may swallow a person only to spit them out into a place akin to Wonderland. --RT Book Reviews Highly impressive. --Kirkus Reviews This wonderful offering is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Neil Gaiman. --Library Journal American Elsewhere conjures up echoes of the best works of Ray Bradbury and Stephen King. ... American Elsewhere manages to surprise, terrify and move the reader. --Los Angeles Times Compelling and truly horrifying, this debut novel is highly recommended for all fiction and horror collections. -- Library Journal (Starred Review) on Mr. Shivers Praise for Robert Jackson Bennett: The Troupe is true magic: a gripping tale that reminds the audience why we fell in love with reading. This book enchants, leaving the audience on their feet, yelling for an encore. - Mat Johnson. ..Bennett's finely crafted novel rises on a wave of suspense to a place of beauty and hope. - Publishers Weekly on The Troupe Like a collaboration between Stephen King and John Steinbeck. --- Publishers Weekly on Mr. Shivers Compelling and truly horrifying, this debut novel is highly recommended for all fiction and horror collections. --- Library Journal (Starred Review) on Mr. Shivers Mr. Shivers is a startling debut, a deft amalgam of thriller, cerebral horror and American gothic, written with a stark and artful simplicity that complements the examination of struggling humanity pushed to its limits. --- The Guardian (UK)


About the Author

Robert Jackson Bennett

Robert Jackson Bennett‘s 2010 debut Mr. Shivers won the Shirley Jackson award as well as the Sydney J Bounds Newcomer Award and his second novel, The Company Man, won a Special Citation of Excellence from the Philip K Dick Award, as well as an Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original. He lives in Austin with his wife and son.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

12th February 2013

Author

Robert Jackson Bennett

More books by Robert Jackson Bennett
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.robertjacksonbennett.co...

Publisher

Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown & Company

Format

Paperback
688 pages

Categories

Fantasy

ISBN

9780316200202

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools