Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

American Elsewhere

by Robert Jackson Bennett

American Elsewhere Synopsis

Some places are too good to be true. Under a pink moon, there is a perfect little town not found on any map. In that town, there are quiet streets lined with pretty houses, houses that conceal the strangest things. After a couple years of hard traveling, ex-cop Mona Bright inherits her long-dead mother's home in Wink, New Mexico. And the closer Mona gets to her mother's past, the more she understands that the people of Wink are very, very different... From one of our most talented and original new literary voices comes the next great American supernatural novel: a work that explores the dark dimensions of the hometowns and the neighbours we thought we knew.

American Elsewhere Press Reviews

So American Elsewhere is basically so good that I want to camp outside @robertjbennett's house until he tells me his secret. --Adam Christopher The novel starts out curious and odd but quickly becomes terrifying and haunting, as the author reveals more about the people of Wink, who just may be the most curious and intimidating collection of folks you're likely to meet outside the pages of Stephen King.... A beautifully written, claustrophobic, and deeply memorable horror novel. --Booklist Bennett gives the idealized image of the American dream a pan-dimensional twist with this alien invasion tale, part Bradbury and part L'Engle with a dash of Edward Scissorhands... Readers will be captivated from start to finish. --Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on American Elsewhere Bennett's novel may remind readers of the early works of Stephen King, presenting a small town where nothing is what it seems.... Bennett's work also evokes a mood similar to that of Mark Z. Danielewski's House of Leaves, where every darkness may swallow a person only to spit them out into a place akin to Wonderland. --RT Book Reviews This wonderful offering is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Neil Gaiman. --Library Journal American Elsewhere conjures up echoes of the best works of Ray Bradbury and Stephen King. ... American Elsewhere manages to surprise, terrify and move the reader. --Los Angeles Times Mad and humorous, gory and poignant, American Elsewhere is a sort of mid-20th-century retelling of the embodiment of Lovecraftian Elder Gods by way of Alamogordo's legendary atomic tests. It's not to be missed.--Seattle Times Highly impressive. --Kirkus Reviews

Book Information

ISBN: 9780316200202
Publication date: 12th February 2013
Author: Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown & Company
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 688 pages
Categories: Fantasy,

About Robert Jackson Bennett

Robert Jackson Bennett was born in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Winner of the Shirley Jackson Award, the Sydney J. Bounds Award, and an Edgar Award, he is the author of the novels Mr. Shivers, The Company Man, The Troupe, and American Elsewhere. Find out more about the author at www.robertjacksonbennett.com.

More About Robert Jackson Bennett

More Books By Robert Jackson Bennett

Cover for City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett
Cover for The Company Man by Robert Jackson Bennett
Cover for Mr Shivers by Robert Jackson Bennett
View All Books By Robert Jackson Bennett

Share this book