Rules of Civility

Ebook edition released 26/07/2011

by Amor Towles

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Historical fiction eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Rules of Civility

Featured on The TV Book Club on More4 on 26 February 2012.

For fans of Fitzgerald and Capote, a witty, elegant fairytale of New York, set in 1938. 'If you want shopping at Bendel's, gin martinis at a debutante's mansion and jazz bands playing until 3am, RULES OF CIVILITY has it all and more ...While you're lost in the whirl of silk stockings, furs and hip flasks, all you care about is what Katey Kontent does next. Another one bartender, please' said The Observer.

LoveReading

Rules of Civility Synopsis

A sophisticated and entertaining debut novel about an irresistible young woman with an uncommon sense of purpose. Set in New York City in 1938, Rules of Civility tells the story of a watershed year in the life of an uncompromising twenty-five-year- old named Katey Kontent. Armed with little more than a formidable intellect, a bracing wit, and her own brand of cool nerve, Katey embarks on a journey from a Wall Street secretarial pool through the upper echelons of New York society in search of a brighter future. The story opens on New Year's Eve in a Greenwich Village jazz bar, where Katey and her boardinghouse roommate Eve happen to meet Tinker Grey, a handsome banker with royal blue eyes and a ready smile. This chance encounter and its startling consequences cast Katey off her current course, but end up providing her unexpected access to the rarified offices of Conde Nast and a glittering new social circle. Befriended in turn by a shy, principled multimillionaire, an Upper East Side ne'er-do-well, and a single-minded widow who is ahead of her times, Katey has the chance to experience first hand the poise secured by wealth and station, but also the aspirations, envy, disloyalty, and desires that reside just below the surface. Even as she waits for circumstances to bring Tinker back into her orbit, she will learn how individual choices become the means by which life crystallizes loss. Elegant and captivating, Rules of Civility turns a Jamesian eye on how spur of the moment decisions define life for decades to come. A love letter to a great American city at the end of the Depression, readers will quickly fall under its spell of crisp writing, sparkling atmosphere and breathtaking revelations, as Towles evokes the ghosts of Fitzgerald, Capote, and McCarthy.From the Compact Disc edition.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780307934536
Publication date: 26th July 2011
Author: Amor Towles
Publisher: Books on Tape Books on Tape
Format: Ebook
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Copy of The Crystal Crypt and the Poppy Denby Investigates Series So Far

Win a Copy of The Crystal Crypt and the Poppy Denby Investigates Series So Far

Closing date: 12/12/2021

The Crystal Crypt, the latest in Fiona Veitch Smith's Poppy Denby Investigates series is a "wonderfully evocative and vivacious 1920’s murder mystery [that] features a female sleuth and reporter investigating a suspicious death" Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer  To celebrate the release of The Crystal Crypt, we're working with Lion Hudson to give away the whole of the Poppy Denby Investigates series so far. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 12th December 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

The Song of Achilles
The Ballroom
The Taste of Sorrow
The Taxidermist's Daughter

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781444708875
Publication date: 05/01/2012
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780307934536
Publication date: 26/07/2011
Format: Ebook

View All Editions

More Books By Amor Towles

Rules of Civility
Rules of Civility
Rules of Civility
View All Books By Amor Towles

Share this book