The Witchfinder's Sister

Paperback edition released 14/12/2017

by Beth Underdown

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Historical fiction eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction Debuts

LoveReading Expert Review of The Witchfinder's Sister

A slow burn of horror

Guardian: "A clever debut, with a slow burn of horror, sees the 17th-century witch-hunter Matthew Hopkins confronted by his fictional sister"

Don't miss the world premiere of Beth Underdown's The Witchfinder's Sister! Playing at Queen's Theatre Hornchurch until 30 October 2021.

LoveReading

The Witchfinder's Sister Synopsis

When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives.

But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names.

To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him?

And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?

Winner of the HWA Debut Crown Award 2017, this beautiful and haunting historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, Hamnet and Where the Crawdads Sing.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780241978054
Publication date: 14th December 2017
Author: Beth Underdown
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Copy of The Crystal Crypt and the Poppy Denby Investigates Series So Far

Win a Copy of The Crystal Crypt and the Poppy Denby Investigates Series So Far

Closing date: 12/12/2021

The Crystal Crypt, the latest in Fiona Veitch Smith's Poppy Denby Investigates series is a "wonderfully evocative and vivacious 1920’s murder mystery [that] features a female sleuth and reporter investigating a suspicious death" Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer  To celebrate the release of The Crystal Crypt, we're working with Lion Hudson to give away the whole of the Poppy Denby Investigates series so far. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 12th December 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

Dancing with Eva
Confessions of the Fox
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
Queen's Gambit

Beth Underdown Press Reviews

'Vivid and terrifying' -- Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train

'A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat

'Anyone who liked Cecilia Ekback's Wolf Winter is going to love this' Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street

'Beth Underdown grips us from the outset and won't let go...at once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale, author of Notes from an Exhibition

'A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel' Ian McGuire, author of The North Water

'Beth Underdown cleverly creates a compelling atmosphere of dread and claustrophobia. ..Even from the distance of nearly four hundred years, her Matthew Hopkins is a genuinely frightening monster' Kate Riordan

'Superb: dark, terrifying and utterly compelling' Tracy Borman

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780241978054
Publication date: 14/12/2017
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780241978030
Publication date: 02/03/2017
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Beth Underdown

Beth Underdown lectures in Creative Writing at the University of Manchester. Her first novel, The Witchfinder's Sister, is based on the life of the 1640s witchfinder Matthew Hopkins. Beth's interest in seventeenth-century England was sparked by the work of her great-uncle David Underdown, one of that period's foremost historians. She came across a brief mention of Matthew Hopkins while reading a book about midwifery, igniting an interest which turned into an all-consuming hunt for the elusive truth about this infamous killer.

More About Beth Underdown

More Books By Beth Underdown

The Witchfinder's Sister
The Witchfinder's Sister
The Witchfinder's Sister
View All Books By Beth Underdown

Share this book