The Death Defying Pepper Roux

by Geraldine Mccaughrean

The Death Defying Pepper Roux Synopsis

When Pepper Roux was born his aunt foretold that he would not live past 14 years of age. Throughout his childhood his parents haven't bothered with him much, knowing that his life would be short-lived. So when Pepper wakes up on his 14th birthday he knows this will be the day that he'll die. But as the day wears on, and Pepper finds himself still alive, he decides to set off to sea in an attempt to try and avoid death for as long as possible. As time goes on Pepper steps into many roles and personas and has numerous outrageous adventures. But can he stay one step ahead of death? Or will fate catch up with him? And, if he does live, which of his many lives will he choose to adopt? This riot of a story is a wonderful adventure, and Pepper is an unforgettable character who stays with you long after his story has been told.

The Death Defying Pepper Roux Press Reviews

'this is irresistible reading, to enchant all ages . . . Pepper Roux can make you happy too.' * Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times * 'I couldn't put it down. It's wise and odd and funny, and the plot kept zipping off in unexpected directions right to the end . . . everybody should read Geraldine McCaughrean.' * Philip Reeve * 'There are other authors writing for all ages who are good, and a few who are very good indeed. But on form Geraldine McCaughrean is in a class of her own, and this latest story is as fine as anything she has written yet.' * Nicholas Tucker *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192756039
Publication date: 3rd June 2010
Author: Geraldine Mccaughrean
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Categories: Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage), Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage),

About Geraldine Mccaughrean

Geraldine McCaughrean has won the Carnegie Medal, the Whitbread Children's Book Award (three times), the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, the Smarties Bronze Award (four times), the Blue Peter Book of the Year award and the Blue Peter Special Book to Keep Forever award. Her novels include Peter Pan in Scarlet, The White Darkness, Not the End of the World, Smile!, Stop the Train, The Kite Rider, The Stones are Hatching, Plundering Paradise, Gold Dust, A Pack of Lies and A Little Lower than the Angels. Geraldine McCaughrean was born and educated in Enfield, North London, the youngest daughter of a ...

More About Geraldine Mccaughrean

More Books By Geraldine Mccaughrean

Cover for Peter Pan in Scarlet by Geraldine Mccaughrean
Cover for One Thousand and One Arabian Nights by Geraldine Mccaughrean
View All Books By Geraldine Mccaughrean

Share this book