Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Jesus Nativity - Passion - Resurrection

by Geza Vermes

Jesus Nativity - Passion - Resurrection Synopsis

The Nativity, Passion and Resurrection are the three defining episodes in the life of Jesus, forming the foundations of the Christian tradition. But what is the truth behind these epoch-making events? Geza Vermes is one of the world's most respected bibilical historians. Bringing together his three acclaimed works on the life of Jesus in one volume, this book examines the circumstances surrounding the miraculous birth of Jesus, from the prophetic star to Herod's murderous decree; looks afresh at the arrest, trial and execution of this Jewish charismatic; and finally analyses Jesus' crucifixion and the subsequent sightings of him by his disciples. Drawing on the New Testament, Jewish documents and sources from classical literature and history, these works separate myth from fact to penetrate the deeper meanings of the story of Christ.

Jesus Nativity - Passion - Resurrection Press Reviews

The world's leading Gospel scholar * The Times * Not only do I find Geza Vermes's Jesus plausible, but I have come to feel that there is an obvious kinship between kindly, humorous, anti-dogmatic Vermes and the Galilean prophet whom he has so frequently brought to life for us -- A. N. Wilson

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141046228
Publication date: 4th March 2010
Author: Geza Vermes
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 496 pages
Categories: The historical Jesus,

About Geza Vermes

Geza Vermes was born in Hungary in 1924. From 1957 to 1991 he taught in at the Universities of Newcastle and Oxford. Professor Vermes is the editor of The Complete Dead Sea Scrolls in English (1997) and author of The Changing Faces of Jesus (2000), The Authentic Gospel of Jesus (2003) and The Passion (2005). He lives in Oxford.

More About Geza Vermes

Share this book