Oh! to be in England Book 4

by H. E. Bates

Part of the The Larkin Family Series Series

Oh! to be in England Book 4 Synopsis

'Christening? We never said nothing about no christening, Ma, did we?' And so with the appearance of a letter announcing the imminent arrival of Madame Dupont, Pop and Ma Larkin learn that little Oscar and Blenheim - Charley and Mariette's new boy - are to be christened. In fact, once Mr Candy - who will be officiating (much to raven-haired Primrose's delight) - learns that Pop and Ma have neglected the entire Larkin brood, the whole family seems set for a dunking! Pop, who needs no excuse to open a few bottles of Dragon's Blood and host the perfick party, rushes out and buys a fun fair to celebrate. But there are one or two gatecrashers even Pop hadn't counted on turning up . . .

Oh! to be in England Book 4 Press Reviews

They are absolute comfort books . . . all five titles are being rereleased just in time for summer * The Lady * As funny as Evelyn Waugh and as enchanting as Laurie Lee's Cider with Rosie. Don't miss it -- - * Hearald * Pop Larkin, Ma and their progeny . . . are essentially English of the rich and ribald England of Chaucer and Shakespeare. A superb and timeless comedy -- - * Scotsman * Pop is as sexy, genial, generous, and boozy as ever. Ma is a worthy match for him in all these qualities -- - * The Times * Pop Larkin is a living, breathing quotable character, cast large in the heroic mould -- - * The Times * Busty and lusty -- - * New Statesman * A gently, anarchic wish-fulfilling daydream -- - * The Times *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141029665
Publication date: 30th November 2006
Author: H. E. Bates
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 128 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About H. E. Bates

H. E. Bates was born in 1905 in Northamptonshire. He worked as a journalist and clerk on a local newspaper before publishing his first book, The Two Sisters, when he was twenty. In the next fifteen years he acquired a distinguished reputation for his stories about English country life. During the Second World War he was a Squadron Leader in the R.A.F. The Darling Buds of May (1958), the first of the popular Larkin family novels, was followed by A Breath of French Air (1959), When the Green Woods Laugh (1960), Oh! To Be in England (1963) and A Little of What You ...

More About H. E. Bates

Share this book