Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Angel of Brooklyn

by Janette Jenkins

Angel of Brooklyn Synopsis

It is January, 1914 and Jonathan Crane returns home from his travels with a new American bride, former Coney Island showgirl Beatrice. In the remote Lancashire village Beatrice is the focus of attention, the men captivated by her beauty, the women initially charmed by tales of her upbringing in Normal, Illinois with her father, an amateur taxidermist, and her brother, a preacher, although she will take the story of how she became the Angel of Brooklyn to her grave. But when the men head off to fight in the Great War the glamorous newcomer slowly becomes an object of suspicion and jealousy for the women who are left behind and as the years pass, and their resentment grows, Beatrice's secret proves to be her undoing. Beautifully observed, tragic, funny and so evocative that you can taste the candy floss at Coney Island and feel the chill of wartime England, Angel of Brooklyn is an extraordinary, heartbreaking story.

Angel of Brooklyn Press Reviews

Jenkins' third novel is set in two real places... but is about the ways in which we imagine the world * Daily Telegraph * Jenkins' tender narrative voice is well suited to a heroine still innocent enough to see the good in people... It's a tall order to mix American Gothic with gritty Northern realism, but Jenkins likes to keep herself and her readers entertained... This invigorating novel bottles the seasonal delights of both Coney and Morecambe Bay * Independent * Lighthearted and confident, a bouncy, enjoyable read * Observer * A joy to read -- John Boyne, author of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas Ingenious and gripping * Times Literary Supplement *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780099516552
Publication date: 20th August 2009
Author: Janette Jenkins
Publisher: Vintage an imprint of Vintage Publishing
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 336 pages
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Janette Jenkins

Born in Bolton in 1965, Janette Jenkins studied acting before completing a degree in Literature and Philosophy and then doing an MA in Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia, where she was in Malcolm Bradbury's final class. She is the author of the novels, Columbus Day, Another Elvis Love Child, Little Bones and Firefly. Her short stories have appeared in newspapers and anthologies, including Stand Magazine, and have been broadcast on Radio 4. In 2003 she was awarded an Alumni Fellowship by the University of Bolton. She lives in the city of Durham.

More About Janette Jenkins

Share this book