LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Glass Spare

by Lauren DeStefano

Part of the Glass Spare Series

The Glass Spare Synopsis

The first in a new fantasy duology, The Glass Spare is a gorgeously told tale of love, loss, and deadly power from Lauren DeStefano, the bestselling author of the Chemical Garden series. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Renee Ahdieh. Wilhelmina Heidle, the fourth child and only daughter of the king of the world's wealthiest nation, has grown up in the shadows. Kept hidden from the world in order to serve as a spy for her father-whose obsession with building his empire is causing a war-Wil wants nothing more than to explore the world beyond her kingdom, if only her father would give her the chance. Until one night Wil is attacked, and she discovers a dangerous secret. Her touch turns people into gemstone. At first Wil is horrified-but as she tests its limits, she's drawn more and more to the strange and volatile ability. When it leads to tragedy, though, Wil is forced to face the destructive power within her and finally leave her home to seek the truth and a cure. But finding the key to her redemption puts her in the path of a cursed prince who has his own ideas for what to do with Wil's power. With a world on the brink of war and a power of ultimate destruction, can Wil find a way to help the kingdom that's turned its back on her, or will she betray her past and her family forever?

The Glass Spare Press Reviews

Readers will be eager to reenter this world of scheming kings and banished heirs, where nothing is quite as it seems. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review) If there was a company that offered dangerous vacations inside of books, I would want to go into this one, and travel the skies and seas with its vexing, honorable liars. Wil's journey dazzles, and DeStefano's writing entrances. This book is luminous and spiky, like a pocketful of jewels. -- Laini Taylor, New York Times bestselling author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone Brilliantly crafted, this fantasy will make you believe in magic. Only someone with a heart of stone will be able to turn away from Wil's story. -- Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of Across the Universe and A World Without You DeStefano has penned a book of exquisite parts-a spiked exterior of brutal magic and a deep core of tender human relationships-that ultimately coalesce into a sharp, scintillating whole. The Glass Spare will leave you wonderstruck. -- Traci Chee, New York Times bestselling author of The Reader A captivating and well-written fantasy adventure. -- Booklist Richly imagined...[and] engrossing...A unique, adventurous fantasy. -- School Library Journal Bursting with intrigue, mystery, [and] danger -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Book Information

ISBN: 9780062491282
Publication date: 20th November 2017
Author: Lauren DeStefano
Publisher: Balzer and Bray an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 416 pages
Categories: Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage),

About Lauren DeStefano

Lauren DeStefano earned her BA in English with a concentration in creative writing from Albertus Magnus College in Connecticut in 2007. She is the New York Times bestselling author of the Chemical Garden trilogy and The Glass Spare. You can find her online at twitter.com/laurendestefano and instagram.com/laurendestefanoauthor.

More About Lauren DeStefano

More Books By Lauren DeStefano

Cover for Fever : Book Two of the Chemical Garden by Lauren DeStefano
Cover for Wither : Book One of the Chemical Garden by Lauren DeStefano
View All Books By Lauren DeStefano

Share this book