10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

A Wedding for the Cornish Girls

View All Editions

£8.99 £8.09

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

About

A Wedding for the Cornish Girls Synopsis

The fifth heartwarming instalment in the Cornish Girls series

Can love still thrive in the uncertainty of war?

Cornwall, Summer 1943

Eighteen-year-old Alice receives a mysterious work summons for a special unit in Bude. Nervous but excited, she starts training straight away.

Meanwhile, land girl Penny also heads to Bude. With a new job at the village farm shop, she dreams of finding love.

Young widow Florence runs the local boarding house. When American troops are billeted to stay, Florence butts heads with their Staff Sergeant immediately.

But might sparks fly for Florence when she least expects it? Can Penny pluck up the courage to pursue romance? And will Alice be up to the task?

Most importantly, can love triumph for the Cornish Girls, even amidst the uncertainty of war?

A heart-warming tale of love in wartime, for fans of Nancy Revell and Donna Douglas.

Readers have been swept away by A Wedding for the Cornish Girls:

'A brilliant read and one I really enjoyed. The characters are loveable and varied … I found myself completely drawn into the story.' Reader Review ?????

'This book is like pulling on your favourite jumper: it's warming, comforting and you don't want to put it down!' Reader Review ?????

'Betty writes in such a way that you can picture yourself down in the West Country with the characters. I find the stories easy to read and hard to put down! Reader Review ?????

'Reading about the three women, how their lives connect, their work, their romances, and how they cope with the war all made for a captivating read. American army men are also a large part of the story … so you just know there are going to be some fun and romantic scenes!' Reader Review ?????

'Plenty of twists in this story of Alice, Penny and Florence. It explores true friendship, comradeship, women pulling together at a time of war. The characters are heartwarming with their grit and resilience. A really enjoyable read and I'm looking forward to what's next. Reader Review ?????

'Another great story about the Cornish Girls. It's so easy to feel involved in the story and the ups and downs of the girls' lives as the characters are well described and the storyline realistic. I wonder what happens next! Reader Review ?????

'This is the fifth in the series ,.. I was somewhat familiar with the background but it could be read as a standalone. The characters captured my interest & the research into the times makes it feel authentic. Reader Review ?????

'I just started reading this with my Nan … My Nan is aged 82 and loves books, which is where I get it from. She has recently been in a bit of a reading slump, this book has gotten her out of it!' Reader Review ?????

'I love this series! I've been an avid follower of the Cornish girls since the very beginning and I always do an excited little happy dance every time I see a new book release and a new book on the horizon!' Reader Review ?????

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008615819
Publication date: 17th August 2023
Author: Betty Walker
Publisher: Avon an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 401 pages
Series: The Cornish Girls Series
Genres: Sagas
Second World War fiction
Historical romance
Narrative theme: Love and relationships
Narrative theme: Death, grief, loss
Narrative theme: Social issues
Historical Fiction