LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Stranger in Our Home

by Sophie Draper

The Stranger in Our Home Synopsis

Have you been bad enough? When her stepmother dies unexpectedly, Caro returns to her childhood home in the rural English countryside. She hadn't seen Elizabeth in years, but the remote farmhouse offers refuge from a bad relationship, and a chance to start again. But going through Elizabeth's belongings unearths memories Caro would rather stay buried. In particular, the story her stepmother would tell her, about two little girls and the terrible thing they do. As heavy snow traps Caro in the village, where her neighbours stare and whisper, Caro is forced to question why Elizabeth hated her so much, and what she was hiding. But does she really want to uncover the truth? A haunting and twisty story about the lies we tell those closest to us, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Cass Green. Readers love THE STRANGER IN OUR HOME: 'Spooky and absorbing. I was gripped from the first page' CASS GREEN 'A remarkably, taut and chilling debut. I absolutely loved it. Brilliant writing. All the creepiness. A heart-stopping ending' CLAIRE ALLAN 'Sophie Draper is a remarkable new voice, combining beautiful writing with a gothic creepiness and a level of suspense which will keep the reader gripped to the end' STEPHEN BOOTH 'A brilliant, sinister debut that creeps under your skin and keeps you hooked until the shocking ending' ROZ WATKINS 'Wow! This is what a horror story is supposed to be! Super spooky and absolutely wonderful in all its gothic glory' NETGALLEY REVIEWER 'The ending was amazing. Psychological fiction at its best. Five Stars' NETGALLEY REVIEWER 'I never use the term jaw-dropping but it best describes the rest of this spectacular read!' NETGALLEY REVIEWER 'Stands up there near to of the top of the pile with narratives like The Woman in the Window and of course The Girl on the Train .' NETGALLEY REVIEWER 'The ending BLEW. ME. AWAY. I feel like I'm going to have a book hangover now. SO, SO GOOD' NETGALLEY REVIEWER

The Stranger in Our Home Press Reviews

Reviews to come.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008320454
Publication date: 25th April 2019
Author: Sophie Draper
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 400 pages
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Sophie Draper

Sophie Draper won the Bath Novel Award 2017 with this novel. She has also won the Friday Night Live competition at the York Festival of Writing 2017. She lives in Derbyshire, where the book is set, and under the name Sophie Snell she works as a traditional oral storyteller.

More About Sophie Draper

More Books By Sophie Draper

Cover for Magpie by Sophie Draper
Cover for Magpie by Sophie Draper
Cover for Cuckoo by Sophie Draper
View All Books By Sophie Draper

Share this book