LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Invitation: Escape with this epic, page-turning summer holiday read

by Lucy Foley

Invitation: Escape with this epic, page-turning summer holiday read Synopsis

'The perfect summer read... Gorgeously compelling' Good Housekeeping'Film crew, Italian Riviera, 1950s. What part of that does not appeal?' RedRome, 1950s. One fateful night, Hal Jacobs meets Stella, a beautiful society darling from New York. To Hal, flailing in the post-war darkness, she's a point of light. They're from different worlds, but both trying and failing to carve out a new life.Stella vanishes all too quickly, until a curious invitation from an Italian Contessa reels her back into Hal's world. They join the Contessa's collection of luminaries on a yacht headed for Cannes film festival.The scene on board is a fiction - scars from the war can be hidden yet not healed. Everyone is hiding a dark history, but Stella's secrets run the deepest. Compelled by her fragile beauty, Hal is determined to bring back the girl she once was, the girl who's been confined to history.The Invitation is an epic love story that will transport you from the glamour of the Italian Riviera, to the darkness of war-torn Spain, and to a golden - if rather haunted - time. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008163006
Publication date: 14th July 2016
Author: Lucy Foley
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers HarperCollins
Format: eBook
Categories:

About Lucy Foley

More About Lucy Foley

More Books By Lucy Foley

Cover for The Guest List by Lucy Foley
Cover for The Guest List by Lucy Foley
Cover for The Guest List by Lucy Foley
View All Books By Lucy Foley

Share this book